We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience is the best thing about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for a few days and were initially impressed with the property. Nicely decorated and the location can't be beat if you wanna be on the sand. The bar next door can be annoying but it wasn't a huge intrusion. The hot water was out the first night we were there which was a pain but they discounted our room rate as compensation. Rooms were comfortable and clean, especially the larger rooms in the back of the property that have the fireplace. The girl that worked the night shift was pleasant and helpful but the manager during the day seemed a little annoyed at times and did not give off the most welcoming feeling. That was more disappointing for us than not having hot water for the first night. I definitely appreciated the property but didn't feel appreciated by the management. I would probably give it another shot. It has the potential to be a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here in the Winter (Dec 2011), We were fortunate to have one of the ocean view rooms which was great for watching the beautiful sunset that night and it was so clear we could see Catalina Island. Great for close walking distance to all and great beach walk from the hotel south past the Pier and long walk to Balboa Pier. The fun place we went were to South Coast plaza, which has incredible Holiday decorations. Dinner at the Crab Cooker is just a stroll from the Hotel.

The only con was that this isn't a B&B style Four Sisters with the evening happy hour and great breakfast.

The ocean view room is great but may be noisy in the summer, also there's some happening bars (which contribute to the noise) but if you like beach bars, there's some good ones there.

Room Tip: Ocean front is good in winter but could be noisy in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed here in October 2011 with my 13 year old son. We spent $50 to upgrade to a beachfront room and were so glad we did. We enjoyed coffee while watching surfers in the morning and evening from our large beachfront window. The front desk was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and we also borrowed boogie boards and bicycles to ride on the boardwalk. Breakfast was continental. Overall, a great find.

Room Tip: Upgrade to beachfront. The view is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanSyracuse_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

After having stayed in this hotel for the 1st time last week, my wife and I decided to come back out next year (2012) for our 40th birthdays and do it again. The hotel exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: for famlies ask for rooms 114, 115 or 116 as they are a bit larger and have a king bed and a "t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The cleaning staff does a great job. This hotel is right on the beach - no sand in our room, clean bedding and bathroom. Recommend reserving either room 101 and 102 (have ocena views). Be prepared for busy weekends with some noise, but week nights are quiet. Fabulous location with reserved, gated parking. Looking forward to nex stay!!

Room Tip: 101 or 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,719 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
602 reviews
4.8 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
7.6 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
513 reviews
9 km away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Address: 2306 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range: $261 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing