We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some drawbacks and disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Inn by the River
Ranked #6 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2016

It was quiet, very nice updated fixtures and nice shower, lovely grounds, nice eating area for the breakfast.
The rug was stained and worn, a turnoff for us. The breakfast was high carbs, needed some hot, cooked protein offered considering the price.
There was NO chair in the room just two small cushioned cubes and for us older folks that doesn't work. Only one rack for a suitcase, the other went on the floor
, no dresser either.
There was no counter or ledge in the bathroom to put you toiletries on.
It was clean except for the rug. The window blinds were a nice update BUT the windows need light blocking curtains added. The room never got dark. Outside lamps glowed all night and we could not sleep.
There was a fridge and microwave in a closet, but NO coffee or tea bags offered and NO cups in the room as well.
We felt it was highly overpriced for the $159 we paid and expected a lot more. When we walked into the room we both said, "are you kidding?"

Room Tip: Don't prepay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016

The Inn is located in a secluded spot just off the highway. It's a very quiet place where you can rest comfortably after a busy day in the parks. The room itself is simple, but clean and very spacious. The TV is a bit old, but who goes to Yosemite to watch TV anyway? The location is very convenient to go to the parks. I`d definitely stay there again.

Please note: You should let them know if you arrive late, because the front desk doesn`t work 24/7. I warned them I`d arrive around midnight and they left the room keys in a previously informed spot.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pedrokt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The newly remodeled rooms are clean and spacious. A contonental breakfast is served daily in a beautoful wood beamed room with a large foreplace, or you can stollmoutside to the deck across from the creek.
The owner is very nice and will gove you a wine tasting...she is very knowledgable and I joined the wine club!
The winery stays open some nights until 10:00 but the night we were there, they closed early. We took our own wne and cheese out in their wine garden for a snack after a day at Yosemite. They had left the lights on and the 4 in our party had a nice evening.
I hope to return there one day.

Room Tip: Wifi available in public areas, but not in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Be careful with this place! We stayed for one night and, a couple days after leaving, they charged us 300$ in our credit card without any explanation. After several e-mails and phone calls, they told me it was a charge for smoking in the room. I explain we are non-smokers, and in fact, my wife has severe asthma, so if I had smoked on the room, she had ended up in a hospital. It took them seven more e-mails and one entire week to answer, saying it was "hotel policy" and they were not refunding it. They have like ten more e-mails from me, but they are not answering. I guess they saw we were foreigners and thought they can extra charge us without consequences, so be careful and think it twice before staying here! Also, the room was smelly when we first came in, so I guess they don't clean up as much as they should...

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tx182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
111Innkeeper, Owner at Queen's Inn by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

The extra charge was for the smoking that took place in the bathroom. It was explained to you why you were charged, and upon arrival you signed the contract that states that the rooms are all non-smoking rooms.

Best Regards,
Deb Payne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We stayed in Room #1. This room was pet friendly. It was a hot day when we arrived and the room was very comfortable when we arrived. This is a huge bonus as some cheapskate places make you cool the room once you arrive to save money. The grounds were fun to walk your pet. The wine bar was closed when we arrived but looked like a fun place to unwind after a long day. Lucy provided service above and beyond and made sure we were treated like valued guests. Room #1 had a mini fridge and microwave in the closet. The room also had a love seat and plenty of room to unload your stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BPH_4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
32.4 km away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
1.1 km away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
620 reviews
3.5 km away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
259 reviews
14.1 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn by the River

Address: 41139 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9403
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: $102 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen's Inn by the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 13 miles from the Southern entrance to Yosemite National Park and seven miles from Bass Lake; relax at the new Queen's Inn on five landscaped and wooded acres along the river. Each beautifully appointed room has its own deck or patio. Enjoy a light continental breakfast in the morning. Be sure to visit our Wine & Beer Garden with its selection of over seventy-five wines and many imported beers, open Wed-Saturday evenings from 4-10 pm. Guests receive complimentary wine tasting in our onsite boutique winery, Idle Hour Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Queen's Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing