We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This adorable Inn in perched up one block from the beautiful Monterey coast line! The rooms are outdated but definitely fits the vibe of the location. Staff was very accommodating! Upon arrival I asked for suggestions on a good place for dinner that wouldn't be too touristy and Alex recommended that my husband and I try the Fishwife restaurant, which is located just down the street from the Inn. We love the idea of not having to travel through unknown streets to get to the restaurant. Fishwife has delicious food and drinks! We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked another stay for November!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Taeler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We decided to travel to Monterey and San Francisco over Labor Day Weekend to escape the heat, but both locations were experiencing abnormal temperatures in the 100s. Unfortunately this quaint little motel does not have air conditioning or ceiling fans in their rooms and bungalows and they keep their outside lights on all night. So even if we opened the door and window (which we did) at night to cool our room down, the lights kept us awake. I would recommend that that this establishment install ceiling fans.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank haveboozewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I read the reviews before I went, so paid particular attention to the attitude and helpfulness of the staff. I had no problems at all with the two I encountered -- they were courteous and helpful. The lawns were great for our small dog who could run around (plus easy access for middle-of-the-night), and it's just a short walk to Asilomar beach. Not cheap, but that's the going rate for the area. Some of the furnishings were dated, but the kitchen came with utensils and some dishes. All in all, it worked out very well.

Room Tip: The king room with the pull-out couch plus a roll-away bed still left space to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiverRaftingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

My partner and I have been coming for years to this venue. It's quaint and lovely.

However, this time we encountered cranky staff. Very unfriendly. People come to Pacific grove for vacations. Smiles are nice to encounter when you check in.

Also, we wanted to stay more than one night and found a good price through TripAdvisor. We called to see if the hotel would honor it and save the 10% booking fee They have to pay. They were not interested in talking to us at all. Odd.

Upon checkout we asked if there had been a change of ownership and the long behold the hotel had been sold in the last two months.

Sad development. We have found a new hotel to stay at. I really don't like to encounter cranky people.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bclinton60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

On May 16, 2017 I spoke to a nice gentleman when booking a room (for July 6 to 8) with two queen beds for my family of four. Less than an hour later he called and apologized, stating that he was mistaken and only a room with a king bed was available and that he could provide a complimentary roll-a-away to accommodate my family. He stated that the room was large enough to comfortably fit all of us. It was slightly more in price but I agreed to it anyways. On June 29 I decided to send an email to confirm my booking and the roll-a-away as our trip was a week away. An email was sent to me at 8:50PM that night from the manager. This was the email: "We do offer roll-a-ways but we charge $25/night plus TAX for them.I am not sure who you spoke to that told you that we offer complimentary roll-a-ways.
Thank you.
Manager."
There was no greeting in the email such as "Dear Mrs" or "Attention so and so". Also, the so-called manager doesn't even put his name down. Then I get a call at 9:26PM from this manager. He never stated his name. He went right into stating that the roll-a-aways are not complimentary and also stating that my room could not accommodate four people and only 3 so could not stay in that room. He said the person who I booked with initially no longer worked at the place and not only that all staff is new as the hotel is now under new ownership. He said he was the new manager. At this point I was very confused and upset as my trip was a week away and I had no time to book anything. I asked him what my options were. He said he had the room with two queen beds (which I initially wanted but was not available), but it would cost extra. At this point, close to 10PM, I felt I had no choice but to pay extra for that other room since he kept emphasizing to me that there was no way our family of four could fit into a room with a king bed and a roll-a-away. BTW, we have 2 young children and we have fit into a room with a king bed and roll-a-away at other hotels. I asked him what if I had not sent an email to confirm my booking ahead of time. What would have happened if I arrived that day on July 6 to check in? He stated that he would tell us we couldn't have our room because it fit only three and we have four in our family. We would have to pay more for a bigger room or find another hotel. He was going to put us in that situation on the day we arrived!! That is terrible service, and not to mention a mean spirited person! This new ownership/management is off to a bad start if this is the manner in which they handle customer interactions. When they took over after my initial booking they must have raised their rates as well because they quoted price for the 2 bedroom was lower than the price he quoted me at 9:26PM. Or maybe he knew I had no option but to go with that room since my trip was a week away and purposely charged me a much higher rate. I lost sleep that night stressing over my trip and the next morning immediately went to work trying to find a place that could fit my family. Luckily I spoke to a really nice lady at Deer Haven Inn and she fit us in. After booking at the new hotel I called the manager at Bide-A-Wee to cancel my reservation and express my feelings. Again, he didn't offer his name nor offer any type of apology to the situation. My advice to you Mr. Manager: if this is the career path bestowed onto you then you need to learn to be more personable, kind, empathetic, and understanding. And for Heaven's sake...introduce yourself!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
7  Thank kleanglum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.2 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
909 reviews
1.1 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
296 reviews
1 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
346 reviews
0.3 km away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
454 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages
#7 of 8 in Pacific Grove
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages

Address: 221 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2005
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $114 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint and Quiet Lodging in Pacific Grove, CaliforniaThe Bide-A-Wee Inn and Cottages is a quaint and quiet rustic inn on the tip of the Monterey Peninsula offering pet friendly lodging accommodations. Nestled in a beautifully wooded area on Asilomar Blvd., in Pacific Grove CA, the Bide-A-Wee is just a 3 minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, Point Pinos Lighthouse and the Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy miles of beautiful walk and bike paths, or experience the "17 Mile Drive", one of the most famous and magnificent stretches of road in the country, which showcases the spectacular Pacific shoreline and vast ocean view. Just minutes away are the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row, as well as the world famous Pebble Beach Golf Links.The Bide-A-Wee Inn & Cottages is just a 10 minute drive away from Carmel and all Monterey tourist attractions, and many of the finest restaurants and shops are just a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bide-a-Wee-Inn And Cottages
Bide-a-Wee-Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing