We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Korakia Pensione
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Old Ranch Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Hills(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rossi Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Del Marcos Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday House(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Serena Villas(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willows(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Three Fifty Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
167
70
21
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
70
21
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoroccan teaclassic moviebedouin suitehuevos rancherosmediterranean poollavender scentedcomplimentary breakfast each morningrecord playerorange slicesmoroccan stylefire pitphoto shootsalt waterfour seasonsfree bikesbike rentalslovely courtyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Pensione is a nice word for this place because it certainly doesn't feel like a hotel. We stayed 4 nights (3 of which were part of a cycling tour). Everything is unique feeling and antique looking (though a bit worn out in some areas). There are many touches everywhere that are great attempts to make the place feel different and in large part it works well. We like the candles and fires a lot and the record players with classic albums in each room were a fun touch. The staff consists exclusively of nice, young women who act more like your hostess than hotel staff (which is great). This is a fairly expensive place, so while the tea service was nice, the very "low-end" included breakfast was a bit of a disappointment -- especially because only a few of the outdoor breakfast patio heaters worked (it wasn't excusable to not get gas bottles or fix the heaters over a 4 day period) and shivering while eating cold food was unnecessary. Perhams do a continental buffet in the library and perhaps warmer inner areas. General maintenance is needed as is attention to specific maintenance requests. For example, it took us 3 days of asking to have our bathroom light fixed (so bathroom by outdoor light for 3 days). We did like staying here, but it appears to be coasting on review of being "sexy" and "chic" from an earlier time.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and interesting
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B865GDJohn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
korakiapen, General Manager at Korakia Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you so much for your feed back. We are truly sorry you did not fully get to enjoy your stay because of things that should have been addressed and fixed. To speak honestly, Korakia has always walked a fine line to maintain a perfectly rustic environment and we have always been successful at doing so. The particular week that you were here our handy man was very sick with the flu and although we called in a sub to fix the items you requested, somehow he always came at a time that didn't work well for your schedule. Regardless, we do apologize and hope that you will return to see how we run at full steam ahead. If you'd wish to discuss the circumstances further, please call or email me at paulette@korakia.com

I look forward to hearing from you and please rest assured that Korakia is just as sexy and chic as ever:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

As travelers, we always hope that a property will at least meet, if not exceed, the image presented in its advertising.

This time, we were disappointed.

The grounds are pretty, but not exceptional. In spite of the themed décor, ambiance is non-existent. It felt deserted, abandoned, as if you could wander endlessly without finding a staff member. The pools were clean and warm, but the building exteriors show obvious signs of deterioration, and the pool chair cushions were dirty. We found bottle caps and trash under the shrubbery on our room’s patio, items that should have been as clearly visible to housekeeping as they were to us. Other reviews commented negatively on the attitude of certain employees, and I completely agree with those sentiments.

Just as exotic furnishings do not magically create ambiance, a pretty face with a forced smile speaking the correct words does not magically create hospitality.

As we entered the lobby, the first person we encountered was a young woman stationed at the desk. She smiled on cue when we approached, and proceeded to check us in on the hotel’s laptop. Apparently, she had a problem with the computer. As she focused on resolving it, her demeanor changed. She disengaged from her interaction with us as completely as if we’d walked away. Distracted, her smile vanished, replaced by a mask of sheer annoyance. Ignoring the fact that we were three feet away, and close enough to see (and feel) her sudden shift in mood, she continued to fiddle with the keyboard in an obviously agitated manner. We stood there, waiting. She didn’t look up. An equally young but much more pleasant colleague passing through the lobby noticed her struggling and quickly stepped in to help. The situation was resolved, but between these two staff, it was clear neither was in charge.

At breakfast the next morning, the server (same person who checked us in) walked over, said “good morning” in a flat monotone without making any attempt at eye contact, and plunked down two glasses of orange juice. As she proceeded to walk away again, we stopped her to ask if coffee was available. For reasons I cannot begin to guess, this clearly irritated and offended her. With a sour look, as if we had just asked a dumb question, she brusquely told us it was “self-serve in the lobby,” and marched away.

Breakfast itself was a letdown, for several reasons. The only egg option on the three-choice list was huevos rancheros. Why not a Mediterranean-based selection, like a Greek omelet? After all, Korakia fervently brands itself “Mediterranean” and “Moroccan.” Just check their social media, website, and printed materials prepared for the rooms. That, plus breakfast, were the deciding factors in our choice of this property instead of another.

So imagine our dismay when breakfast tranquility was marred, jarred, and otherwise ruined by the inexplicable and incongruous Mexican music playing on a loudspeaker the entire time. Mariachi, to be specific. First, it’s supposed to be quiet, as we were reminded in two emails and a phone call before we even arrived. Second, talk about a mood-spoiler! Festive Mexican music has its place, but early morning in a quiet Moroccan and Mediterranean-themed boutique hotel is NOT it.

Your choice of specific room or suite here will profoundly affect your experience. We stayed in the Delphi Room, on the Mediterranean side. To clarify, Korakia occupies two sides of a quiet side street, within walking distance of many local attractions. The Mediterranean area is opposite the lobby, across the street. Parking in this neighborhood is scare, and we were shown the Korakia-only parking spaces during our tour. But, since nobody bothered to record our vehicle information when we checked in, I have no idea how or if Korakia works to ensure they are used by guests only.

The Delphi Room is an end unit, adjacent to the walkway where a constantly bubbling fountain sits directly outside, creating pleasant background sounds. A wrought iron lattice encloses the patio on three sides, including the adjacent patios. The latticework is open, with wide spacing between the slats providing an unobstructed view of people on the patio next door, and even those further down. There is a mountain view, but the first thing you’ll notice are cars parked up against the outside wall.

You can call it rustic, you can call it quirky, but you cannot call the Delphi Room spacious. The high wood ceiling tricks you, and at first, it doesn’t feel cramped or claustrophobic. But minutes later you’ll be colliding like bumper cars while trying to unpack. Minimal and poorly-utilized floor space, a normal sized closet with its space squandered by a mini-fridge that could have gone elsewhere, an antique dresser with flimsy drawers whose shelves were blocked by an ancient wicker chair, and no luggage rack equals literally no place to put anything. Sparse shelf space in the bathroom, awful lighting by which to do your makeup, a single nightstand instead of two, and not enough outlets are among the other frustrating deficiencies.

The room’s unfinished and wildly uneven stone floor has rough edges protruding ¼” or more. The result? Stubbed toes and tripping, even with thick slippers.

The temperature inside the room was pleasant, and we were able to enjoy the nice warm pool the next morning. The bed was comfortable, and the neighborhood is quiet at night. The softly bubbling fountain provided much-needed white noise, but couldn’t drown out the sounds of coughing, snoring, and a wake-up alarm early the next morning coming through the wall from the adjoining room.

Perception is reality, as they say. An unpleasant staff member with extremely poor interpersonal skills plus a ridiculously small room, compounded with disappointment at breakfast, all add up to an unsatisfying guest experience.

Given the numerous options available nearby, this was a poor value at $250 for one night. But if we’d booked for two nights, I would have happily eaten the cost and found other lodging.

Room Tip: Avoid the Delphi Room if you enjoy comfort.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FallsGirl0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
korakiapen, General Manager at Korakia Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that Korakia did not meet your expectations. We work very hard to create a special experience for all of our guests. I can assure you that 65% of our guests are repeating clientele that love the unique environment that can only be found and felt at Korakia. Korakia was built in 1924 and although our architecture is unmistakably Moroccan and Mediterranean we are a very creative and eclectic space. You are correct, we did offer Huevos Rancheros, which are a guest favorite. Our music in the mornings is world music from around the world and the music you are referring to is from Spain and Portugal. All of our pictures shown on social media are re post from pictures and moments that prior guests have captured and shared. We hope that you will give us another chance. Korakia is a very special place and we hope that we can show you why in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We really LOVE this place. I didn’t know what to expect from the pics but it was everything I was hoping it would be. It really feels like you’re in Greece on the Mediterranean side. The other portion of the property is across the street and has a Moroccan theme. The rooms are all in separate buildings and have a living room, a little kitchenette and a beautiful big bed with white gauze curtains everywhere. It’s so magical!! Our room faced the heated salt water pool and there were 4 sets of French doors to open!! It’s fantastic. Plus the bathroom is all stone so it feels like a rustic retreat.

Very clean, very authentically rustic and the grounds are enchanting. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it is served outside in a lovely courtyard with fabulous music playing and the sound of water in the fountain. So quaint and perfect. Breakfast was delicious both days with three choices of dishes and juice and coffee or tea. Then in the late afternoon, they serve hot mint tea in the lobby.

Our room had a record player and a choice of LP’s to choose from. No TV or phones so you have to entertain yourselves. There is WiFi. At night they light tons of votives everywhere around the property and show movies outside.

I highly recommend this place if you can get past the idea of a traditional hotel. It’s really special, but not for everyone. No children allowed so it’s very quiet and a very adult vibe. We loved Allissa. She gave us dinner suggestions, a tour of the property including the history of the place and she’s been there for 11 years so she really loves it and it shows.

We cannot wait to return!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Staying here was lovely. The layout and architecture of the different cabins , and the pools were so inviting. We had hiking on our mind, but It was hard to tear ourselves away from the warm water pool and the lovely zen feeling grounds. Definitely would be a great place to fully decompress. Breakfast is included and they did have nice healthy choices and a pleasant outside patio to eat at. Our cabin was Naish. It worked because we were not there in the daytime much, and it was very cozy at night by the fire. But I believe it’s the darkest of all the cabins so it felt a little cavernous and unsunny. It could use better lighting with stronger , or just more lamps. It was too poorly lit to read . It was tucked in the corner of courtyard though and did have nice access to the pool area. I would love to try staying at one of the other sunnier cabins in the future. All in all, I would definitely return!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Fairlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

This Inn was one of the ones that was open for touring on Dec 14/17 for THE WALK OF THE INNS. This Inn is a long way from Tangiers but definitely has an unmistakably Mediterranean experience. A Moroccan inspired retreat,housing two restored historic villas consisting of bungalows, guest houses, gardens and pools. Korakia means "CROW" in Greek and is internationally recognized as one of the top small hotels worldwide. Total of 28 guest rooms and suites with 2 heated illuminated pools and fire pits. Complimentary WiFi access, cotton robes, patios or balconies, kitchenettes with A/C, private safe, hairdryer and fireplaces in most suites. Complimentary breakfast, pool snack , yoga classes and afternoon Moroccan tea service. Policies include no children under 13, no pets and nonsmoking guest rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews