We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yet another stay at Chaps Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaps Inn

Chaps Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaps Inn
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yet another stay at Chaps Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have stayed at Chaps Inn at various times since it opened and consistently return and send friends there. Owners Stuart and Ian are gracious and accommodating. On the last trip they even located an item we had left (before we contacted them about it) and promptly mailed it back to us. I like the availability of orange juice and the coffee makers (with coffee) in the rooms.

Room Tip: Room #2 is a suite, but often booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Agree with other reviewers.2nd visit highlighted the fact that owners are over it.

Pros:
Rooms are spacious and clean
Only resort in PS where day visitors don't have to pay
Into older overweight men , this is the place for you.
Cheap.

Cons:
Bath could do with an update, you can pee faster than the shower pressure.
Beds quite hard, which is okay if you are on the hefty side.
Premises are very hot, little greenery and all concrete so it does not really have a resort feel.
Wi if awful
Only play area - outdoor sling in full sun.
Owners seem happier entertaining their own friends and getting on the wine during the day than paying much attention to a resort which is running down rapidly.
Misters might come on if the owners remember before having their first drink.

Suggestions: if you are going bill this as a leather resort, at least wear a bit of leather - picture of the owners in chaps on the website is rather old. Now they wear socks and sandals.

Definitely needs an overhaul.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank donaldasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My partner and I took a last minute trip to Palm Springs over White Party weekend and had a really great time at Chaps. Its a more intimate space than anywhere else in PS that we've stayed and Ian and Stewart (the owners) were really awesome and accommodating. The room was nice (and big!) the price was great, the pool gets direct sun all day. Cant say enough good stuff about this place. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for just under a week. There weren't many people actually staying there. This is where it got...odd. It seemed the owners' friends all came over nearly every day which I found different. Two of them were a little more than...insistant when it came to trying to get some action. I actually had to lock the door on one of them who didn't know what no meant. Other than that, the rooms are rather large. The hosts are quite pleasant. If you are on the heftier side, the beds would be perfect for you. (very sturdy for extra curricular activities) You can rent a sling from the office. As CruellaDenver stated...it is not a B&B so don't expect one. Not a honeymoon spot and saw more action at other resorts in Palm Springs, but for some odd reason 50% of them are up for sale. (where are all 'family members' going?) Sorry for the delay in posting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manabout2wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Owners are nice and the place is quiet & clean. I liked the pool. It is in a quiet neighborhood. But overall it is like staying at a distant cousin's or your boss' brother in law's pool house. This is not a B&B so don't expect that. The kitchenette might be nice if you stayed more than a couple days. Not a sex crazed atmosphere. The outdoor sling and cross seem like they have not had action in months. It seems like it caters to the older crowd- expect the average age of 50+. But I had to try it. The 2 cats were cool! I guess I would give a Meh.

Room Tip: I think they are about the same from the outside. They all face the center area that has the pool. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CruellaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 km away
Bearfoot Inn
Bearfoot Inn
#31 of 42 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.7 km away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#9 of 42 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.1 km away
Warm Sands Villas
Warm Sands Villas
#14 of 42 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Century Palm Springs
Century Palm Springs
#11 of 42 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.2 km away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#2 of 42 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
3.1 km away
Vista Grande Resort
Vista Grande Resort
#1 of 42 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps Inn

Property: Chaps Inn
Address: 312 E Camino Monte Vis, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4797
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing