We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising, Elegant, Boutique Fun”
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This hotel popped up as an option, and I jumped at the opportunity to try it out. Wow!

Great value. Great rooms. Great food. Great experience.

The valet greeted me immediately. He doubled as bell-person.

The front desk staff (one flight up from street level) welcomed me with warmth.

The marble bathroom made the room, but it was only the beginning.

I would recommend to friends. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Second, third, and fourth floor are all good options. Hard to go wrong, methinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DakotaDunesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella H, General Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're all very happy to hear that you had such a memorable stay. We always strive to provide the best service possible and are glad that you experienced our top-notch hospitality. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmly,
Ella H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

This is a great hotel. I had not stayed here for about six years and changed my last name in the meantime and, yet, they remembered me. I have no idea how. (As I was checking out they asked me to confirm the email of an assistant I had six years ago at a different employer.) The customer service is the best. It's an unassuming place from the outside and the inside is also simple, but everything is highest quality and done perfectly. Definitely ask for a fireplace in your room; that was fantastic on a cold night.

Room Tip: request fireplace in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella H, General Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Elizabeth, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We always strive to provide our guests a 5-star experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmly,
Ella H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

I was here for a few days in the summer for a conference and its a great base for doing business in Palo Alto, seeing the area, and kicking back at the end of the day. Everything in the Valley is a short ride away, but you can walk to world class stores, restaurants, and, of course, Stanford on University Avenue within minutes. Good facilities, nice staff, and close to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damomcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella H, General Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're all very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us for the conference. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We recently stayed at the Garden Court Hotel, while in Palo Alto for a reunion. Rooms are very nice, staff is courteous and helpful, but given the price of the property we would expect a higher level of attention to detail. Example: a light breakfast is laid out in the morning on each floor, and two of the mornings we were there, the food had disappeared by 8:30 AM. A call to the front desk yielded no results. Worse yet, they ran out of coffee one morning. I could provide additional examples from our stay, but they are along the same lines (pick up the empty glasses sitting in the lobby!). I recognize that Palo Alto is a high rent location, which would drive up the cost of a room, but at $500/night, they need to keep the coffee urns filled.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed N, General Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Erin, thank you so much for the review. I'm so disappointed to hear that we let you down on your recent visit. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and clearly we dropped the ball during your visit. The lobby should always be in tip top shape as far as making sure empty glasses are taken away. The coffee and pastries served on every floor in the mornings are routinely replenished. I'm sorry to hear that during your stay they were not and we will be sure to follow up with the staff. We always value the opportunity to ensure we are providing the highest standards to our guests. I do hope you'll return in the future, and thank you again for your feedback!

Warmly,
Ella Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We had our wedding and reception at the Garden Court Hotel at the end of February, 2017. We first contacted Jesse Bresnahan, Event Coordinator at the Garden Court, via email just seven (7) weeks before our wedding day. We were skeptical that an event rising to the level of our hopes could be put together in such a short period of time. Jesse calmly reassured us that it was in fact possible based on the experience and professionalism of both himself and the rest of the supporting staff at the Garden Court.

Jesse delivered above and beyond all he promised. Everything was executed flawlessly with the highest level of service. The coordination among the staff and with outside vendors was superb. Their attention to detail resulted in an unforgettable wedding.

We are truly in awe as to how smoothly all the details were worked out in such a condensed time frame. This was only made possible by the incredible staff at the Garden Court Hotel, and, in particular, Jesse's ever guiding hand leading us every step of the way. We could not have asked for a more perfect result.

All the communication with the staff was pleasant and professional. In planning all the details, they presented everything so clearly and efficiently: everything from table settings, floor plan arrangements, audio equipment, food options (even customizing for our guests with food allergies), etc. The food was impeccable with a good selection.

The hotel has a calming ambiance. The rooms are tastefully arranged and very clean. Great valet service. We would definitely recommend this place as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yee Shan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed N, Front Office Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're all thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with the final result of your wedding planning with us and that Jesse was such a great guide throughout it all. Nothing make us happier than taking care of our guests and making events so special. We hope to see you again in the future for a stay with us!

Warmly,
Mohammed N.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
5.6 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,072 reviews
0.5 km away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
3.8 km away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
671 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.2 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Address: 520 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: S$404 - S$1,244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing