We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany disappointment :(”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tuscany disappointment :(”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at the Villa Valdemosa this weekend. I was disappointed with our visit on a number of different points. None of these should come as a surprise since in most of the previous reviews, people encountered the same problems. My mistake was not reading the reviews BEFORE selecting it. First off, the website touted that all suites had a flat screen TV and a DVD player to enjoy the library of over 500 movies. When we arrived, after coming in early on a Saturday night, we were told by Danielle, who was very gracious, that the Petit Syrah Suite doesn't have those. Then we realized the room had no "private patio" as stated on the website.

The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and we both woke up with back pain. This was also mentioned in the reviews. In the morning, a dog woke us up at 6 am with his / her barking. Then a baby started screaming. These are both things I could have avoided by staying home.

As for the gourmet breakfast, the frittata Tom made was delicious but the single strip of turkey bacon left a lot to be desired.

Similar to posts left by other reviewers, the villa has potential but it certainly was more like staying in a spare bedroom at someone's home.

I had intended on calling Tom after we returned home to discuss these issues but after reading reviews about others who made that decision and received a "it's not my problem response", I chose to write this review.

Tom, it seems, from other posts, that you are not open to constructive criticism, don't care that in the hospitality industry you sometimes have to "bite the bullet" and admit your customer is right, and despite similar posts over the past few years, have not made any improvements to your property. It is sad that you take that approach. I wish you the best and hope that future clients take the time to read reviews before selecting your property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 88Lola88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
This review was sent in by a Groupon coupon person, who became agitated when the service amenities were not what she expected. We tried in every way to make her happy.Before she left she was asked if everything was satisfactory and she said yes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
so cal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I booked 2 rooms in November for March. After speaking with Tom and confirming the rooms, he calls me 2 months later to tell me he's canceling them because he has a $5000 wedding that he wants to book instead. Well, since it's a festival weekend, every other place is booked or twice the price and I've already spent $400 on festival tickets that I bought after I booked the room with Tom. Now I'm out a place to stay and $400. Meanwhile Tom says,"Things happen and I'm not going to lose a $5000 dollar wedding for you" and then hangs up on me. If you book it he will cancel you if a better deal comes along. Don't stay here! Beware!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hbgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paso Robles hotels

Redlands, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This place is a prize if you are looking for a quiet place to stay while in the Paso Robles area. The host is helpful and attentive. The facilities are very nice, the view of the area is spectacular, traffic and traffic noise are non-existent. A great couples get away place!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Im doing a review here because this place says Trip Advisor rates them number 1 or 2 all of the time! Terrible! Horrible! Dark room which claims to be a "Portifino Suite" with stained rugs. Tiny bathroom. NO TV !!! NO DVD !!! (which they claim to lend you 600 movies-only if your room has a dvd player) and NO WIFI (we werent close enough to the home that supports it! NO HEAT! Sorry, space heater. Put it on your nightstand, add sweat clothes and socks and a few more blankets. It almost works out for you. The owner claims there should not be a problem because he sets it at 64! No hot breakfast! No gourmet breakfast! A plate of muffins and SOME nights there is wine, no cheese. And the best for me was setting up the surprise flowers and champagne because it was both of our birthdays that day. Nothing! When I questioned it I was told that I am a "discounted" room and if he did that for everyone he would go broke! OMG. I paid $250 for 2 nights. Is that considered cheap? Wait till you see this place and you'll get where I am coming from. His email does not work so he doesnt get anything you send. His printer does not work so there is no receipt when he collects for tax on the room. Hes not even sure what charges the card I was told. Big surprise when my bill comes in.
Reading the other reviews I know some of them had to be filtered. This place is just something some guy is trying to do so he does not have to work in the real world. Your a fool if you go. Get your money back and go to a real B&B. And enjoy! We were stuck because we had already bought it online as a deal. We had to stay.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mary Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Location is great...rooms very basic...felt like a motel instead of B & B..paper thin walls so we were able to her the guy next to us snore all night....coffee is not served until 8:30 and breakfast at 9:30...the girl serving was vry nice, but breakfast was embarassing for a B & B...one piece of micro wave bacon, one scramble egg that was terrible...not enought to fill a a small cat's appetite, serving of yogart and fruit that was only enough for one, but was suppose to serve all six guest...nothing was home made.....pillows were large foam and useless....slept using my fleece jacket as a pillow....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kenny360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
11.8 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
684 reviews
10.9 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,424 reviews
12.0 km away
CaliPaso Inn
CaliPaso Inn
#21 of 30 in Paso Robles
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Emily's House B & B
Emily's House B & B
#12 of 30 in Paso Robles
48 reviews
18.6 km away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Paso Robles
117 reviews
18.1 km away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price range (per night): $300 - $478
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing