We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORTABLE AND CONVENIENT”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We were in Pismo Beach for a wedding, and this motel was only 3 blocks from the beach. Very easy to walk to the boardwalk, and around town. The room was clean and the owners were very nice. Convenient to mall and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room! We had a very "amorous" couple in the room above us, and we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

At first! The people who run this place are absolutely adorable! So friendly! Our room was clean! Comfortable! Perfect! We came here after we left San Francisco that morning! We had beautiful weather in the morning, but it became worse going more south! Too bad, because we were so excited about Highway 1! But don't get me wrong it was still Beautiful! But this motel made us forget the cold foggy and wet day! There was also breakfast included! Would definitely come back here if I need a place to sleep!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ritchie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

From reading reviews, I got the idea that this place had been recently remodeled. Our room was old and not very clean. location right off the freeway is noisy and didn't feel real safe. we were able to walk to beach and restaurants, though. Didn't even try the breakfast. I realize this motel was budget-priced, but, I just expected a little better. We will look elsewhere in Pismo next time

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The room looks exactly as pictured above. Older rooms but clean and the bed was great. Very comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave. Just a few blocks from the pier, easy to walk back and forth. There is no view of ocean. Hotel is near the entrance to Hwy 101 which you can hear the road noise some but it was not terrible. You can also walk to the Outlet Mall easily from hotel. The only downside was that we made reservation through Booking.com and never received confirmation from them. Called Ocean Palms to confirm reservation and manager stated he did show 2 reservations and he would cancel the one. Turned out the 2nd reservation wasn't canceled and we were charged the one night as a no show. I do not know if the charge was fault of Booking.Com, Ocean Palms, or ourselves. But it did turn a very reasonable price for the weekend into pricey with the added night added in. Would we stay again - Yes but I will not use Booking.com again. Will work with hotel directly.

Room Tip: Upstairs might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyAnn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Stayed here for 1 night during a roadtrip on highway 1.

+ The room was overall comfortable. Bed was comfortable. However, it was too high. They seem to have 2 mattresses on top of each other, you need to jump to get on to the bed, where as the nightstands next it are not as high. Which is not very convenient, but not a big deal. Still overall it was very comfortable.

+ Bathroom clean. Water pressure is wonderful, very strong.
- Bath tub drain is very slow, causing the water not to drain completely during shower, if you stay in the shower more than a few minutes your feet can get covered in water due to the drain's slowness which is very uncomfortable.

+ Good location for an overnight during a roadtrip on highway 1.

+ free on-site parking

- The heater had a very bad smell. A combination of a gas smell and dust. The smell was bad enough that we could not use it. Overnight the room got rather cold as this was December and were unable to use the heater.
- Reception guy not super friendly. He was nice and accommodating, but not as friendly as a motel staff would be expected. Not a big deal.

* Free breakfast offered. Includes a waffle machine, cold cereals, coffee and packaged muffins. Does the job.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sfk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,457 reviews
1.5 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,129 reviews
1.6 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#24 of 29 in Pismo Beach
158 reviews
2.5 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,560 reviews
1.8 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: S$91 - S$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing