We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
US$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
SuperTravel
US$142
View deal
Expedia.comUS$199
Hotels.comUS$199
PricelineUS$199
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveller rating
964
433
174
51
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
964
433
174
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front third floor main building within walking distance bagels fire pit hot tub watching the sunset view room partial ocean view great view love this place pier patio pismo fireplace steps
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Location -- 5 stars
Room Cleanliness -- 1 star

Payed close to $1,000 for two nights (included two sketchy miscellaneous $15 charges) we expected something like the Fairmont Hotel, this is not it! Thank goodness we brought our own cleaning supplies. The tables had fresh coffee stains and the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all. There was hair in the bathtub and toilet, the toilet seat and cover were dirty; the sink was decent. We traveled with another family, their room had a musty smell. The toilet roll that was opened looked like it was started by the previous customer.

We had minimal encounter with the staff, but they seemed friendly. Only thing that we were surprised about was not allowing us to bring our own food to eat in the small dining area near the lobby; wasn't a big deal except the heat lamps on the patios (outside and third floor) weren't working. The patio furniture was also dirty and had stains.

The A/C doesn't have a remote, so the kids were cold at night.

Website isn't up to date on procedures as almost none of the customers wore masks in the public areas of the hotel. The staff wore their masks for most of the time. Pismo in general, people weren't wearing masks.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank w021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Davison, General Manager at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Thank you for taking time to provide a review from your recent stay. Feedback such as yours is important to the ongoing improvement of our guest service standards. We strive to provide each of our guests with a wonderful experience and I apologize about the condition of your room. I am also sorry about you not being able to eat your personal food in our restaurant. As you know health code doesn't allow us to permit food from off property to be eaten in our restaurant dining room. Just like you can't purchase food at a seafood restaurant and then take it across the street and eat it in separate restaurant across the street. We thank you for your understanding regarding this county health code policy. It looks like you may not have been aware but as of June 15th only non vaccinated guests and staff are required to wear masks. We do appreciate your feedback and hope to have another opportunity to have you as our guests and impress upon you our great service and wonderful rooms.

James Davison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021

At first we were very disappointed in our room - but were able to change it to another one with no problem and were very pleased with the 2nd one. We had a ground floor balcony overlooking the boardwalk and the ocean. Felt that the internet was a bit off in the description of this hotel as the food area and food available not as described.
WARNING the beds sit on wooden frames which have very sharp edges. I got a really deep cut from one and when I went to desk for aid she told me that happens a lot. - Maybe they should get buffers like other hotels use .

Room tip: Be careful of the sharp corners on the wooden bed frames and request a room in the main building.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MenifeeHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

I am so sorry to hear about the beds and will definitely look into some kind of buffer for them.

-Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

Absolutely terrible customer service. They are not allowing guests to use any glasswear without purchase. We wanted to drink some nice local wine we purchased at Clos Solene, but there are only plastic water cups in the rooms. We went to the front desk to ask for a couple wine glasses and she said “only with purchase because of covid.” So, you’re telling me that I guests can only use their glasswear if they buy something. That has nothing to do with covid!!!! The room as not clean when we arrived, as there were food on the carpet. The bartender was rude and disrespectful. Their management needs significant improvements. Don’t stay here!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hbromilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you so much for your review. I sincerely apologize for your experience, this is not the level of service we are accustomed to providing on a daily basis. Due to COVID we were restricted and stopped using glassware and are currently using disposable. Hopefully we will go back to using glass wear soon. Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated.
-Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

Location was awesome, right on the beach! Within walking distance to cute shops, eateries, and coffee bars!
Smores on the patio while watching the sunset was the perfect way to end our stay! My son said that was the best part!
Rooms are clean, spacious and staff was friendly! A little noisy with party goers down the hall, but still worth the trip!
Would stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari123174
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

-Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

We love the Sandcastle Inn at Pismo Beach. We have been coming to this hotel yearly for the last 25 years. They continue to update/renovate when needed over the years. It’s had the best Beach access of any hotel at Pismo. Spend the extra money on the Ocean View room. Sleep with the door open to hear the waves crashing. It’s so nice!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TammysVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with your overall stay. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations.

-Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews