We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$145
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seaside Motel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
201
26
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
26
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea levelcake popsrooftop poolmood lightingloxbath tub on the balconycrispy chickenmanhattan beachdeep bathtubperfect eveningdeck overlooking the marinarelaxing daysmemory foam mattressopportunity for improvementdeluxe kingcomplimentary glass of champagneluxury boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

WOW!!!!! What a cool spot. My top 3 highlights: THE BED!! Feels like a cloud surrounded with chromotherapy lighting. THE FOOD, 5stars! YUMMERS. & THE POOL w/a beautiful view! Thx SHADE, I'll be back!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dontcallmejessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaMarcus, Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear dontcallmejessica,

Thank you! We cannot wait to see you again soon at Shade!

Best Regards,

Melissa Marcus
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Let's start out by saying that after a 10 day stay at the Shade it is an excell hotel, excellent facilities, great hotel and service staff in a great location. The style is very comfortable moders, rooms are spacious and well appointed. it is kind of different to have a bath tub on the patio, makes one careflul when getting in our out in their birthday suit
The down side to the hotel is that it is very much an event hotel. On weekends they will have at least one wedding and several other large gathering events. While the hotel can accommodate this, regular guests can really receive a second class statue. This is especially true in the Restaurant. The hostess desk can very curt and cold if you do not have a reservation and they are booked for event(s). at breakfast we were clearly told what time we had to be finished at vacate our table. At one point there had three 25+ tables served at the same time. from our view they did a great job with the events, it is just we were not part on them, so we felt like we were on the outside looking in.
The roof deck pool has a great view and is a very nice area. The pool itself is not a swimming pool, it is really a soaking or relaxing tub. the water is very warm and not a place to generally cool off. Our 4 year old grandson had a great time there and wanted to return.
While some of my review seems a bit negative, it just reflect the reality of a quality luxury boutique hotel. Perhaps some staff could use a refresher course on Disney hospitality for non event guests, but all and all a very good hotel, We will not hesitate return.

Room Tip: 3rd floor Marina view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AbacusTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Staff and accommodations are wonderful. Love the location and will definitely stay there again. The restaurant across the walkway is very good, although there is a long wait in the evenings so put your name on the list early.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Shar0nW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Clean room, friendly and helpful staff. Friendly and quick valet. Nice basic breakfast included. View is nice of the harbor and the boats. It is not right on the beach but very close. Walkable to several restaurants. They have free bikes to ride.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mawood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We checked in late and very tired from our travels. The King view room was large, clean and well thought out. The bed was super comfortable and we were excited to get some sleep. Unfortunately, we had guests above us who kept slamming the doors. Not just a few times, but 20-30 times. The way the hotel is designed, sounds from other floors are easily heard. After being kept awake at 2:00 in the morning by our noisy neighbors I threw on clothes and went to the lobby to deal with it.

Now, if you are in charge of customer service for a 4 star hotel, and a guest is awake and cranky enough at 2:00 in the morning to come down to the lobby because of noise you allow to happen, wouldn't you do everything in your power to soothe that angry guest?

Not in our case. The woman staffing the desk appeared to be bothered by it, but went on to defend the noisemakers. "They just got in" "They are going back and forth between rooms". She basically offered me no help at all but did say she would talk to them. After hearing the door slam another 20 times, I called down to the desk and again got no apology, just defending the other guests. I was never offered a different room, another accommodation, or anything else that might make our stay more comfortable. The next day I asked for a late check out so that we could sleep in a little to make up for lost sleep, and we were told no, unless we paid $50/hour.

My feeling, is that the hotel's main business is events such as weddings. However it is a small hotel and so the events are either right next to you, or even on the same balcony as the door to your room. As such, it is a loud hotel with a staff that seems more concerned about the events and the events' guests than those of hotel travelers.

It was a big splurge for us to stay at this hotel, and although the location and room was amazing, we just felt as if the hotel staff could have cared less for our needs. I feel like our money would have been better spent at a hotel with a higher standard of customer service and less distraction of events.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant. It stays noisy there until about 1:00 am.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SabineD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaMarcus, Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear SabineD123,

Thank you for your insightful feedback regarding your recent stay at our new hotel. I’m glad that your guest room was satisfactory and that the beds were comfortable during your late-night stay. Additionally, I want to thank you for bringing to our attention the effect of events on your stay as we certainly do not prioritize event guests over others and are sorry that your experience appeared as such. Our team strongly agrees that proper customer service and noise mitigating procedures were not illustrated during your short time with us based on the details you mentioned and we will be addressing them as well. Should your travels bring you to Redondo Beach in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at mmarcus@shadehotel.com so I may personally oversee your next stay and ensure that it is a most enjoyable one.

Best Regards,

Melissa Marcus
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews