We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience EVER From Start to Finish!”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We held a Family Reunion in July during which we put up 30 family members from Texas and New Mexico in the beautiful Shade Hotel (we wanted a "beachy", relaxing experience for them). We picked the right hotel, for sure! From booking the rooms with Tina M. the delightful Catering Services Manager to the wonderful treatment we received from every staff member from the valet, to the front desk, to the restaurant, to the housekeeping staff, it was the best hotel experience ever. The rooms are exquisite, and one fun aspect is one can enjoy a bath on the balcony (privacy curtain can be drawn, of course!) I cannot say enough good things about the Shade Hotel, and I highly recommend you book a room there!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cee2shiningcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

WOW!!!!! What a cool spot. My top 3 highlights: THE BED!! Feels like a cloud surrounded with chromotherapy lighting. THE FOOD, 5stars! YUMMERS. & THE POOL w/a beautiful view! Thx SHADE, I'll be back!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dontcallmejessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaMarcus, Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear dontcallmejessica,

Thank you! We cannot wait to see you again soon at Shade!

Best Regards,

Melissa Marcus
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Let's start out by saying that after a 10 day stay at the Shade it is an excell hotel, excellent facilities, great hotel and service staff in a great location. The style is very comfortable moders, rooms are spacious and well appointed. it is kind of different to have a bath tub on the patio, makes one careflul when getting in our out in their birthday suit
The down side to the hotel is that it is very much an event hotel. On weekends they will have at least one wedding and several other large gathering events. While the hotel can accommodate this, regular guests can really receive a second class statue. This is especially true in the Restaurant. The hostess desk can very curt and cold if you do not have a reservation and they are booked for event(s). at breakfast we were clearly told what time we had to be finished at vacate our table. At one point there had three 25+ tables served at the same time. from our view they did a great job with the events, it is just we were not part on them, so we felt like we were on the outside looking in.
The roof deck pool has a great view and is a very nice area. The pool itself is not a swimming pool, it is really a soaking or relaxing tub. the water is very warm and not a place to generally cool off. Our 4 year old grandson had a great time there and wanted to return.
While some of my review seems a bit negative, it just reflect the reality of a quality luxury boutique hotel. Perhaps some staff could use a refresher course on Disney hospitality for non event guests, but all and all a very good hotel, We will not hesitate return.

Room Tip: 3rd floor Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AbacusTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Staff and accommodations are wonderful. Love the location and will definitely stay there again. The restaurant across the walkway is very good, although there is a long wait in the evenings so put your name on the list early.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Shar0nW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Clean room, friendly and helpful staff. Friendly and quick valet. Nice basic breakfast included. View is nice of the harbor and the boats. It is not right on the beach but very close. Walkable to several restaurants. They have free bikes to ride.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mawood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 km away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
520 reviews
0.3 km away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
1.8 km away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
4.5 km away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
540 reviews
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 655 N Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2004
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Price Range: S$293 - S$1,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first luxury boutique hotel in Redondo Beach, California. Just 6.5 miles from LAX, and right on the waterfront, Shade offers guests sweeping views of the Pacific coastline from Palos Verdes to Malibu. Nestled in the heart of the South Bay, Shade Hotel is pleasingly situated between the King Harbor Marina and the bicycle strand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing