We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Official Website
US$209
View deal
Booking.com
US$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$261
US$189
View deal
SAVE US$72
PricelineUS$209
Hotels.comUS$209
travelup.comUS$261
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,467)
Filter reviews
2,467 results
Traveller rating
1,276
605
300
147
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,276
605
300
147
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions baleen restaurant ocean view front desk sea wall paddle boarders free bikes first floor beautiful hotel valet parking nice location los angeles marina gene balcony boats fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,467 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2021

The staff was very kind but the cleanliness of the bathroom left something to be desired. Their was hair in the tub and on the floor when we arrived. Also the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbors as if they were in the same room. So all of the noises throughout the day/night were unfortunately heard.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marlenesheeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin Matsuda, Guest Services / Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Dear marlenesheeran,
We appreciate your time in sharing you feedback. We are saddened to read their were issues with your room. We are diligently working on coaching and improving on those concerns. Our housekeeping and maintenance leaders are sharing your feedback and reviewing best practices to help improve upon our services and product. Again, than you for choosing to stay with us in the South Bay, we hope we have the opportunity to show you we care and listen to our guest feedback.

Regards,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021

Such a peaceful stay so clean bed was great the view was great the staff was very nice I can’t wait to go back and stay again right on the ocean food was good the area was very safe there is lot’s of things to do in the area

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikefmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin Matsuda, Guest Services / Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear mikefmassey,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at The Portofino Hotel and Marina with the TripAdvisor community. We were delighted to have you during your week getaway to the South Bay. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for your next oceanfront adventure!

Regards,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021

Super beautiful hotel and wonderful staff. Overall good room service offered. Not crazy about the menu though. My only real negative is being extremely overcharged for and ocean view. 1st time visiting and I was offered a $500 upgrade to have ocean view. Not a fan of that one.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EzE818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin Matsuda, Guest Services / Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Dear EzE818,
Thank you for joining us this past holiday weekend. We are delighted to know you had a enjoyable stay; highlighted by the staff and in-room dining. The hotel has a variety of different types of ocean view rooms; however, with the weekend not only being chance for families, like yourself, but also couples to take advantage of a long weekend, those room types were nearly sold out. The Luxury Ocean View Suite was the last ocean view room available that would be able to accommodate your family. We understand the difference in rate that was offered was significant; however, we wanted to make sure you had the opportunity and option to get the ocean view room you requested. Again, we appreciate your business and kind words. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Regards,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021

Room was not clean. Found several hairs in the bathroom. But had to stay in this room because the hotel was booked for Valentine's Day. Hairs were in the shower, on the vanity, sink, even on the moisturizer/lotion pump! Told front desk about the hairs and was told he would put in a note for a manager. Next day manager said there was no note and repeatedly questioned me about seeing the hairs. Stating the room hadn't been occupied in over a month. I explained they should've gone through and cleaned it. After a few days of going back and forth and waiting for a call back the manager took 20% off. Still not worth it. Also stayed on the 2nd floor marina view. Not worth it either. You have a view of the parking lot. Paid over $300 to look at a parking lot. Also there are hidden fees. Save your money and go somewhere else that's cleaner, especially during Covid and values their guests.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Camper597058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin Matsuda, Guest Services / Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Dear Camper597058,
Thank you for choosing to spend a night with us. We are saddened and disappointed the hotel did not meet the moment and make sure you felt valued as our guest. We pride ourselves on our customer service and providing guest options when issues arise with their stay. We appreciate your feedback and continue to improve our customer service as well as making sure the room is safe and clean remains our top priority.

Regards,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021

This was my 2nd stay there. First stay was great no issues. However 2nd stay was for my daughters birthday. I booked room over phone and was very very clear on type and location room we had asked for. even re confirmed room type and location a day before our stay. BUT when we got there we were told the type of room and location was not available. Basically we were told TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT. Not a good thing. . WILL NOT be staying there again anytime soon.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tashnag316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin Matsuda, Guest Services / Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Dear tashnag316,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are sadden to read the hotel was not able to accommodate your highest floor request in your reservation. The hotel does it's best to fulfill all of our guest requests; however, the one room in the room type you booked on the third floor was already occupied. I am delighted to see, contrary to your comments, the front desk was able to provide you other options for the location of your room, including the one you took advantage of - a room on the second floor in a wing of a building that we have closed due to lower occupancy caused by the pandemic. Again, we value our guests and always want to provide our guest options when their first preference is not available. Thank you for your business and we hope you will in fact give us another opportunity.

Regards,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews