We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Point Richmond
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

If you have no other choice!
Walked in there was a band playing in the reception hall that is attached to the front desk so the desk clerk could not hear us when we tried to check in. The rooms were not like the picture online. The rooms were dirty and had a smell to them. Rift raf was walking around most the night and Into to the morning. We had two rooms and in the middle of then night we had someone knocking at our door. The walls are very thin, you can hear the traffic all night, not to mention the train tracks next to the hotel which are used very often. Bring an extension cord if you plan to plug anything in by the bed. The area has nothing to offer. There is a walk up gas station next to the hotel and after that nothing but industrial. They do have security which are armed that walk the hotel at night. Stay away from here if you can.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Cameron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannine p, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Point Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I would like to apologize for the problems you had .We are under new management and a new renovated hotel and the rift raf is no longer around we do have cameras and security and all room have been updated and you will find your next experience a much better one if you do decide to come back to Richmond and stay at are Sure Stay plus hotel thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

7 - 11 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

we sere presented with bogus charges at check out, and even though we were promised a refund, they kept most of the overcharges. our stay was prepaid for the entire stay, the office misplaced the paperwork, and charged us directly from our deposit CC.
we have been repeatedly told that the person who can authorize a refund is unavailable, or any number of excuses. we were overcharged approx. $240 and refunded $170. absolutely dishonest management.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

The worst motel I ever stay in. Bathroom is very dirty, mattress is dirty, infected with roaches. The motel is located in a ghetto area of Richmond. A lot of noise from other hotel guest, at night you can smell reefer and smoke smell from other room. Just horrible... Got this room from hotwire , it didn't show until I paid and booked the room, thought just for one night it was ok but I was truly terrified. Will never use hotwire mystery room again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethl705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I booked this for my daughter and her co-workers after I called the hotel and they said they had new management. We were so worried after reading the reviews, but the hotel was GREAT!!! Wi-fi, free coffee and tea in the lobby, microwave and mini-fridge, tons of parking, big clean rooms, they brought them extra towels and blankets, friendly workers, easy check in and check out, plus it was so close to the Crane Pavilion where they were working. They are already planning on booking it next year as all of their other co-workers who booked different hotels couldn't believe how nice it was.

Room Tip: Supermarket near the hotel where you can stock up your fridge. Also, free tea and coffee in the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Positives: room is clean, towels are new and fluffy. Staff is polite. Strong hot shower. These are the only reasons for no negative stars.

Negatives: TV occasionally worked, WiFi occasionally worked, non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes. No phone/coffee or tea kettle, one towel.
We called ahead about pet friendly and breakfast times but when we checked in a notice stated they were no longer taking pets (unless service animal), and when we went in to eat the next am were told no more breakfast, just coffee.
Vinyl curtains had holes from cigarettes. Poor wiring so when the air fan came on the motion detector light over the vanity would come on too. ALL NIGHT.
All this would have been tolerable but we were seriously concerned for our safety. There were a group of people sleeping in the room next to ours. From 10pm until 7am people were outside our door drinking yelling fighting. People came and went all night long. Late morning we saw 3 guys making a drug deal in the parking lot, we couldn't believe it. Hair extensions beer cans and cigarette butts on the ground in front of our door. Management just apologized but did nothing so we didn't push it, there guys were pretty scary.
It seemed to us they were using the outside rooms facing the road for business.
This was a last minute stop due to a family emergency otherwise we would not have stayed. The second night I used ear plugs and put the pillow over my head, bolted the door and kept my fingers crossed. The base from the tunes coming out of the cars parked in front of our door made the walls vibrate.
This was an adventure not for the faint of heart, think we will avoid this place in the future!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank kimiha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
7.5 km away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
5.5 km away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
12 km away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
93 reviews
12.2 km away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Point Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Point Richmond

Address: 915 W Cutting Blvd, Richmond, CA 94804-2027 (Formerly Marina Bay Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Richmond
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $108 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Point Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Point Richmond is opening its doors and inviting travelers to experience one of the newest brands of the Best Western family of hotels and resorts. All of the spacious guest rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and an in-room coffee maker. We have a fitness facility, business center and outdoor pool. You can enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast every morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Point Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Point Richmond Hotel Richmond
Days Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing