We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do visit this wonderful winery!”

Grgich Hills Estate
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Grgich Hills Estate is an iconic Napa Valley winery, consistently producing world-class wines. Vintner Hall of Fame inductee Miljenko "Mike" Grgich first earned world-wide recognition when the Chardonnay he crafted won the 1976 Paris Tasting, beating the best of France. Mike then partnered with Austin Hills to open their family-owned-and-operated winery in 1977. Committed to natural winegrowing and sustainability, we farm our five estate vineyards without artificial fertilizers, pesticides or herbicides, rely on wild yeast fermentation and use our passion and art to handcraft food-friendly, balanced and elegant wines.
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Miljenko "Mike" Grgich, the namesake and founder of Grgich Hills Winery, helped put California Wines on the world's stage when the Chardonnay he made for Chateau Montelena won the prestigious Paris Tasting competition in 1976 as the best white wine in the world. In partnership with the owner of Hills Bros. Coffee he founded this winery in1977 and for years has produced excellent, award wining wines. This was our third visit to this winery, the first visit during the harvest and press time of year. The fragrance and energy was palpable as we lucky visitors participated in stomping the grapes in the garden in front on the tasting room.

1  Thank KLE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for your visit and glad that you enjoyed our history, and our wines!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"grape stomping"
in 25 reviews
"fume blanc"
in 11 reviews
"tasting room"
in 42 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 44 reviews
"unforgettable tour"
in 5 reviews
"california wines"
in 6 reviews
"chateau montelena"
in 6 reviews
"cheese pairing"
in 7 reviews
"great wine"
in 23 reviews
"great history"
in 9 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 7 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 15 reviews
"private tour"
in 7 reviews
"visit napa"
in 5 reviews
"take home"
in 7 reviews
"wine club members"
in 6 reviews
"different wines"
in 9 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped by just about closing time but James took great care of us. Great history of Croatia wine making and how it came to Napa Valley.

Thank BrettBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thanks for visiting us and glad to hear that James took great care of you.

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We visited this winery one morning during our trip. The wines are just amazing! We had several tastings and loved the Chardonnays!! No wonder he put California chardonnay on top of the world.

Thank SaltLifeFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for your visit and glad you enjoyed the wines. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We had such fun at Grgich Estate
The stomping of the grapes and
Souvenir Tshirts and a wonderful tasting made this stop a fun and
Different experience. Thankful we were their before the fires !

Thank foxpalmetto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your visit and glad you had fun. We are back open and stomping away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This was our last stop in Napa, and what a fun way to end that part of our vacation! As you will note in their website, $25.00 gets you a T-shirt with your grape-stained footprints on it, a glass of very delicious Grgich wine -- we had the Chardonnay and a souvenir (plastic) glass -- a GREAT value. Although this is a very short visit with no tour (unless you count the gift shop and a a small plot displaying various kinds of grapevines), I think it is definitely worth a stop -- and it takes less than 30 minutes!

1  Thank KathrynAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for making us your last stop and we're glad that you enjoyed our Chardonnay, along with the grape stomp!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grgich Hills Estate also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Grgich Hills Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing