We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
44
48
23
9
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
48
23
9
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cal expo soft and firm pillows front desk bar soap local attractions hot breakfast cable tv coffee machine state fair bagels flat screen fridge and microwave within walking distance shampoo sink
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here twice because our first experience was very good, and our second stay was better. Both times were 2-night stays. I needed to be close to the UC Davis medical buildings. So this was a perfect location. It was easy access to doctors appointments, to restaurants & to stores. The Outback directly across from the hotel has a 20% discount from the hotel off your entire meal. The Habit Burger is next door to the hotel, we could walk right over for a quick bite. I recommend this hotel as it is reasonably priced & satisfying in almost every aspect. There is a free breakfast included. However I'm on a diet so I can't comment on the selections or quality of the food that is served at the hotel. Yes we will go back on our next visit to Sacramento.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank terryglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the excellent review and comments. We are so glad that you like our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This place is just great. Modern clean rooms. Flat screen wall mounted tv. Beautiful pool and hot tub. The location is perfect for Cal Expo events and Arden Fair shopping mall. I walked to the mall from hotel. I just loved this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ThomasS11832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hi, Thomas. Thank you so much for the incredible kind review and for being our guest. We are extremely happy that you like our newly renovated hotel and our location too. A lot of thought went into our renovation and we wanted to make sure to include what today's travelers are looking for and expect when they're on the road. We hope to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

My grandkids and I stayed here for a couple days to go to the State Fair. It’s only a 5 minute $5 Uber ride to the main gate. This hotel has been remodeled and is very nice. The kids swam all day as it was over 100 and we hit the fair in the evenings. They have discounted tickets at the hotel counter. They have a breakfast buffet each morning and the kids made their own waffles. The gentleman servicing the buffet area was very nice and helpful and so was the guy replenishing towels at the pool area. We were very happy with our stay and there are many restaurants nearby. Note: there is no elevator so ask for first floor if that’s an issue. We were on the second floor and it was fine. Also the ac is loud but we slept thru it at night. There is a fridge in the room along with a microwave. We will stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DianaandManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi, Diana & Manny. Thank you very much for the great review.and perfect 5 star score. We really appreciate this and want to thank you for selecting our hotel. There are a lot of hotels in Sacramento, and we try our best to provide what travelers need and expect while on the road. We hope you all had a great time at the California State Fair and hopefully we'll see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Good hotel with large and recently renovated rooms. Beds are comfortable and all amenities are catered for. Friendly staff at the front desk at check in. Room rate includes breakfast and free parking next to the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank iWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hi, and thanks for staying with us and for the great review and comments. We like hearing how we're doing and we'll never stop trying to be the best hotel in Sacramento. Our goal is to provide each guest with the hospitality and lodging they expect and deserve. Our newly renovated guest rooms are incredible, and we have many more improvements coming. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Very clean and renovated rooms. The rooms were quite big too. The beds are comfortable but very high.

The breakfast wasn't good. Pancakes were from a supermarket that you had to heat. The eggs are powdered. Not a lot to choose from.

Gym was good.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MrsMorgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi, Ms. Morgan.

We greatly appreciate having you as a guest of our hotel and for you taking the time to post your review. Thank you for the 4 stars and for your comments. We read each and everyone of them, as our goal is to become the best hotel in Sacramento. I'm sorry that you didn't particularly like our breakfast, but I wanted you to know that we plan on making some enhancements in the near future. Again thank you for your business and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews