We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We needed a safe place to crash for a night, not to far from SFO, and didn't want to spend a fortune. BINGO! But we were surprised how nice the rooms were once we opened the door. It was clean, quiet and the bed super comfy. Bummer we only spent 1 night there. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017

When in San Carlos, I would recommend the Hotel San Carlos. It is a 1950's motel that has been completely renovated in the last few years. For the price, the best deal in the area. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are large and well equipped. Plenty of electrical outlets. Furniture in good shape and the bathroom is nicely done with quartz counter tops and modern fixtures. The breakfast is nice with coffee, juices, waffles, pastries, yogurt and fruit. Not fancy but perfect. There is a pool, which I didn't use but looks nice. Plenty of parking. I stayed in a room in the back portion of the complex. Very quiet. Even though the hotel is on the El Camino, I heard no traffic noise. There is a CVS across the street and several restaurants within walking distance. The bed was very comfy! That is always a must for me. Also, the room was spotless...huge kudos to the housekeeping staff! Overall, I would recommend the Hotel San Carlos!

Room Tip: Request a room in the west wing of the hotel. The rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuckmics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Often stay here, better than comparably priced competitors and the location is quite desireable. Close to San Carlos Executive airport, close to College of Notre Dame de Namur in Belmont. Handy location in Sheriff territory so bad actors get taken away quickly. Fully high tech with cameras, WiFi, fridge in room etc.

Room Tip: upstairs a bit quieter but since no elevator, better for younger, fit folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luggedsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Was not sure what to expect from a local hotel vs the large chain hotels. A pleasant surprise:the room was clean and comfy with nice bed and bath linens. Although the hotel in on a busy street, the auto traffic was barely audible. The manager was very friendly and most helpful-came to the rescue to open the bottle of wine for us. (Forgot the wine opener). The rates were very reasonable.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Don't let the outside deter you. The room is a great price, comfortable bed, clean, and the softest towels. DISH tv and all the basics. Close to our favorite restaurant La Creola. Will use again. Free parking

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
1.7 km away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#2 of 7 in San Carlos
86 reviews
2.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 7 in San Carlos
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
205 reviews
1.4 km away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,452 reviews
1.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Address: 26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070-2402 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: $114 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at our small, boutique hotel in San Carlos, CA, you can count on a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. We are proud to give personal attention to each of our valued guests. No other hotel in San Carlos, CA, can offer our level of comfort and service at such affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing