We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
26
51
18
0
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
51
18
0
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles parking lot fit the bill basic breakfast parking is limited bring your own room was clean side street pre packaged pastries coffee maker basic hotel front office small table reception area road trip nothing fancy road noise
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

limited breakfast - comfortable bed & A/C - quiet room (was given a room in back corner of the property) except for when the person in room above us walked across his room - location was within walking distance of a few places to eat

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank You for staying with us and hope to see yoiu in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We needed a safe place to crash for a night, not to far from SFO, and didn't want to spend a fortune. BINGO! But we were surprised how nice the rooms were once we opened the door. It was clean, quiet and the bed super comfy. Bummer we only spent 1 night there. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

When in San Carlos, I would recommend the Hotel San Carlos. It is a 1950's motel that has been completely renovated in the last few years. For the price, the best deal in the area. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are large and well equipped. Plenty of electrical outlets. Furniture in good shape and the bathroom is nicely done with quartz counter tops and modern fixtures. The breakfast is nice with coffee, juices, waffles, pastries, yogurt and fruit. Not fancy but perfect. There is a pool, which I didn't use but looks nice. Plenty of parking. I stayed in a room in the back portion of the complex. Very quiet. Even though the hotel is on the El Camino, I heard no traffic noise. There is a CVS across the street and several restaurants within walking distance. The bed was very comfy! That is always a must for me. Also, the room was spotless...huge kudos to the housekeeping staff! Overall, I would recommend the Hotel San Carlos!

Room Tip: Request a room in the west wing of the hotel. The rooms in the back are very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuckmics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Often stay here, better than comparably priced competitors and the location is quite desireable. Close to San Carlos Executive airport, close to College of Notre Dame de Namur in Belmont. Handy location in Sheriff territory so bad actors get taken away quickly. Fully high tech with cameras, WiFi, fridge in room etc.

Room Tip: upstairs a bit quieter but since no elevator, better for younger, fit folks.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luggedsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Was not sure what to expect from a local hotel vs the large chain hotels. A pleasant surprise:the room was clean and comfy with nice bed and bath linens. Although the hotel in on a busy street, the auto traffic was barely audible. The manager was very friendly and most helpful-came to the rescue to open the bottle of wine for us. (Forgot the wine opener). The rates were very reasonable.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews