We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$71
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$179
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
US$89
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
40
29
15
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
29
15
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake breakfastliving roomhostelobispodowntownslojarredcalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Staff are mostly friendly, helpful and nice.

Location is great! Close to Higuera St where the main action is. 5 min walk

Facilities were good. Clean, comfy beds. Nice bathrooms

Pancakes were nice.

Small hostel so not many ppl but nice feel to it


Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I like the basic look of the place (the shower upstairs had a great colorful look), but my room, a women's dorm was quite cramped. It had two bunk beds, which would have been enough, but then also had a fifth bed. Luckily it never had five occupants, as it reaaaaaallllllly would have been too close for comfort. The bathrooms also became full. I looked around and it just seems they are trying to cram too many people into too small a space. Also, they make you leave the hostel during the day, which was completely opposed to what I had in mind when I got to SLO. I have been traveling quite some time and was looking to have a few non-active days and this was more than annoying. You're paying for a place but you can't use it? WHAT? And the place ain't cheap. Supposed to include breakfast but of course there was that annoying tip jar. The US has to get a grip on tips (a friend said his plumber had a tip line on the bill!!)

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TrippinT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

A nice hostel with an interesting bunch of people and very attentive and welcoming staff. The staff both make sure the stay is comfortable as well as offering help to try and make it enjoyable. Breakfast is served on a donation basis and is tasty.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

I was really lucky to find this hostel, in a really good location between LA and San Francisco. Really felt like a proper hostel, as always with HI with a large emphasis on sustainability and consideration for others staying there. Really impressed.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Stayed here with my boyfriend in a private room. The hostel is nice enough and offers very good value for money but our room needed redecorating and was very small. It was located next door to the reception desk so you could hear everything that was going on from 7am in the morning. Breakfast was limited to pancakes (which neither my boyfriend or I eat). Not really much community spirit, would be good to have more events in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews