We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for an overnight stop along your trip”
Review of HI San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The HI Hostel in San Luis Obispo is in a normal residential area and it's a converted house. There is parking around the back and I had no problem parking there. Beware that there's not a whole lot going on in the area. Luckily I had a car so I drove to Denny's for dinner.

This hostel is a converted house and you notice it the moment you walk in. The first thing you see is a large common area, dining table and kitchen. Front desk is small and check-in was modern with a tablet where you had to sign for payment. Well thought of!

I was given a room on the ground level and it was a dorm room in the front of the building. It was extremely tiny. It fitted 2 bunk beds and then there was 50 centimeters between both beds. There was barely room to store your luggage or even to stand! This is the smallest dorm room I have ever stayed in. There's hardly any room to change clothes. It would be better to remove one of the bunk beds to create a room that's not claustrophobic. There's also no lock no the door.

I left early in the morning, so I did not use breakfast. I think some kind of breakfast was offered for a small donation.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeroenOlthofNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Staff are mostly friendly, helpful and nice.

Location is great! Close to Higuera St where the main action is. 5 min walk

Facilities were good. Clean, comfy beds. Nice bathrooms

Pancakes were nice.

Small hostel so not many ppl but nice feel to it


Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I like the basic look of the place (the shower upstairs had a great colorful look), but my room, a women's dorm was quite cramped. It had two bunk beds, which would have been enough, but then also had a fifth bed. Luckily it never had five occupants, as it reaaaaaallllllly would have been too close for comfort. The bathrooms also became full. I looked around and it just seems they are trying to cram too many people into too small a space. Also, they make you leave the hostel during the day, which was completely opposed to what I had in mind when I got to SLO. I have been traveling quite some time and was looking to have a few non-active days and this was more than annoying. You're paying for a place but you can't use it? WHAT? And the place ain't cheap. Supposed to include breakfast but of course there was that annoying tip jar. The US has to get a grip on tips (a friend said his plumber had a tip line on the bill!!)

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TrippinT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

A nice hostel with an interesting bunch of people and very attentive and welcoming staff. The staff both make sure the stay is comfortable as well as offering help to try and make it enjoyable. Breakfast is served on a donation basis and is tasty.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

I was really lucky to find this hostel, in a really good location between LA and San Francisco. Really felt like a proper hostel, as always with HI with a large emphasis on sustainability and consideration for others staying there. Really impressed.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
1.1 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
4.5 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
649 reviews
1.5 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,466 reviews
1.4 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI San Luis Obispo

Address: 1617 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3721 (Formerly Hostel Obispo)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $67 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your HI San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing