We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Lol.travel
US$148
View deal
Hotels.comUS$177
TravelocityUS$177
Trip.comUS$201
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
500
262
62
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
500
262
62
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happy hour steak sandwich made to order breakfast beer and wine free beer fire pit living room each evening dvd player waffles choice hotels the hotel offers hot breakfast would stay here again third floor king bed stayed here for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2019

What this hotel lacks in modern decor it makes up in added extra's. I loved the free happy hour drinks and its amazing free breakfast and the free shuttle to and from the town. The hotel is in a good location. San Luis Obispo is a very nice town. We walked to the Thursday night markets which were great and a must-see if you are there on a Thursday, the market food was awesome and cheap. Our room had two rooms separated by a door, one room was a sitting area with a pull out sofa bed and the other room had a king-size bed. The king bed was very comfortable with a light doona. The sink was in the bedroom and the bathroom was tiny. The decor was old and out-dated but clean. The area around the pool is very nice and the hotel cooks bbq food around the pool for the guests with reasonable prices
The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in our years of traveling, lots of hot food options and the service was very fast. The room was really well set up. I had scrambled eggs and a waffle that was so delicious. I would definitely stay here again. Well done to the management for making this hotel a very enjoyable place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
gnewland, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Vivienne, thank you so much for the excellent feedback! We are currently putting a plan together to modernize our suites, and hopefully bring a fresh feel to the property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary services and amenities. We make it our goal to create a unique and positive stay for all our guests. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Although we only stayed at this hotel one night, it proved to be one of the better hotels of our stay. The hotel was used as a stop over from driving between LA and San Francisco. The hotel room itself was very clean and modern. The pool was nice and some areas around the pool had their own gas fire pits. Dinner consisted of a steak sandwich cooked on the BBQ with all the trimmings which was beautiful and the bar had a happy hour and free bar snacks. This is exactly what we wanted.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CarwynP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

We have stayed here many times over the years. Great location and nice facility. The bathroom and coffeemaker should not be in the bedroom. Should be laid out ,Ike Embassy Suites. Bed was good and nice amenities.

Happy hour wine was good but only a bowl of snacks was offered. Nightly BBQ was good and inexpensive. Breakfast was excellent!

Room tip: 159 was a good location and next to the parking lot.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sascanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 October 2019

We spent one night here so we could go to the SLO Thursday night Farmer Market. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Beautiful, relaxing grounds. A courtesy hotel shuttle took us to the farmers market and brought us back to the hotel. So convenient. Did not need to look for parking ourselves downtown. Great made to order breakfast too! Thank you for a great stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 48MB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2019

Arrived late in the day, and checked in by friendly staff. Room was very large and right away seemed kind of weird.

The first room was a large living room with a great and comfortable pull-out bed. We have had bad experiences with these foldable beds in the past, but these were either brand new, or very well maintained. Furniture was easy to move around and the room sported a fridge, microwave, and sink.

The bedroom was also comfortable, with lots of plugs for phones and other devices to charge. The balcony could have been cleaner, but not a big deal. The only weird thing was the sink in the bedroom. The bathroom had no sink. Weird, but it actually works well.

Parking was plentiful and free. We didn't try the pool or hot tub.

Perhaps what decided on the 5 dot rating was the free breakfast. Not your usual self-serve cereal and waffles, but a kitchen where you place your order and get great scrambled eggs, mini-waffles, ham, bacon, spinach, etc. The menu is limited, but I'm sure you could ask for custom orders if you like, and there is LOTS of good coffee with real cups! On top of that there are the usual cereal, muffins, fruit, etc. It started our stressful day right! Oh, did I mention it is free :)

I highly recommend this place and we will return.

Room tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the street.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111SimonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
gnewland, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! We put a lot of time and effort into picking a great sofa sleeper, so we're happy you liked it. You're not the first to write about our bathroom set up, but more often then not, people enjoy the layout. So awesome to hear about your breakfast experience! Your comments will be passed on to our kitchen staff. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews