We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$159
View deal
Booking.comUS$179
BestWestern.comUS$159
Hotels.comUS$159
PricelineUS$159
TravelocityUS$159
travelup.comUS$160
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
488
435
157
42
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
488
435
157
42
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog park best westerns pet area laguna lake make your own waffles would stay here again breakfast was included happy hour the breakfast area nice pool cal poly comfortable room bagels central coast road trip farmers market close to downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2020

This is a Best Western that is located near the Madona Inn

The Good:
Great Helpful Staff
Very good breakfast
Clean
Good WiFi

The Not So Good
Dated dark room
Chipped furniture
Tiny sink area
Pretty far from Downtown

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank billpC1756HZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 February 2020

I came in the Saturday night of Presidents' weekend with my daughter to ask for a room. Best Western was totally full, and didn't have to help me. But Katy started calling all over the area to try and find us a room. She must've called 10 places, just to help us. As it was not looking good, Naomi offered us pillows and blankets so we could sleep in the car in their parking lot. Finally Katy thought of a hotel that had opened two weeks earlier in SLO and they had a room!

They were so unbelievably helpful, just out of kindness. Best Western is lucky to have them!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Service
1  Thank audabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Dear audabee,

Thank you for making your gratitude for Naomi, and Katie public.

I will make sure they see your review and we sincerely thank you for your kindness as well .

We hope to see you again the next time your in San Luis Obispo but under better circumstances :)

Chase
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Royal Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

I had to work in the area and was pleased the hotel was close off the freeway and a few places close to eat. I really liked the lounge that had free snacks and a few free drinks Monday thru Thursday 5-7.
Nice big room for breakfast and a lot of choices.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 896lewish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Hello Lewis H,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us !

We are glad you enjoyed the evening reception Mon-Thus from 5-7pm.

We hope to see you again the next time your in San Luis Obispo.

Chase
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Royal Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

This is a lovely place to stay - very conveniently located, very nice rooms and a wonderful breakfast buffet. We have stayed here many times and have always been pleased. The view of the pool and palm trees is soothing after a long day's drive.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Hello Ian T,

Thank you for sharing your feelings about our hotel.
We truly appreciate you making your feelings known to the public.
We hope you come by and see us again soon :)

Chase
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Royal Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

This hotel is super clean with nice decor. The beds were very comfortable, the room was spacious with a nice balcony, and the bathrooms were fresh and modern. The staff was attentive and super friendly, and the front desk attendant even had wonderful recommendations for dinner. The location is less than a five-minute drive to the heart of San Luis Obispo's downtown creek area, which is exactly what we hoped for. We had our young dog with us and we also appreciated the enclosed dog area very much! Having a full, hot breakfast with so many options was such a wonderful value and time-saver, plus it was delicious! We couldn't have been happier. What a gem of a hotel, especially for the price!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Artemis626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews