We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$89
PricelineUS$89
Hotels.comUS$89
TravelocityUS$89
FindHotelUS$89
Agoda.comUS$89
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
313
291
83
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
313
291
83
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was clean farmers market one night walking distance cal poly queen room fridge and microwave off the highway definitely stay here again free breakfast motel slo thursday rates california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2022

the staff (Sal in particular) was the most rude, unhelpful, and offensive “manager” I’ve ever interacted with. we had NO HOT WATER, and they blamed us, didn’t believe us and refused to compensate or help. It was the worst customer service I’ve ever had in my life. they questioned us and made us feel like we were the problem, however there was simply NO working hot water. This used to be my go-to spot in SLO - and I will never ever step foot here again. I encourage you to find somewhere else to stay, there’s many other options in SLO. This is the worst place due to those who run it. I have never been so disgusted with a place/hospitality situation. I tried to contact John who is apparently the other manager and haven’t heard back, they refused to share contact information. Don’t stay here!!!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank marylW2439JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

Dear guest, thank you so much for your valued response. We feel sad to hear about your negative experience with us and we sincerely apologize. We always strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience and serve our guests to the best of our abilities. However, we seemed to have failed in our endeavor and we will take appropriate steps to provide a better experience going forward. We hope to remain your place of choice and we seek another opportunity to serve you yet again.

Best Regards,
Avenue Inn
Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2022

First, I start with the "but". I am a senior citizen. The shower presents a REAL danger. There is no rubber mat or anti-slip material on the shower floor. Also there is only one grab bar in the shower.
Having gotten this off my chest, the place is clean and well run. It is spartan but a good value.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zaxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2022

Dear guest, thank you so much for your valued response. While we are happy that you stayed with us, we are disappointed for failing to blow it out of the park for you. We appreciate you for highlighting this particular issue and, we will take steps to address this issue as soon as possible. We look forward to hosting you soon!

Best Regards,
Avenue Inn
Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2022 via mobile

The entire property has been recently renovated and they did a fine job. Our rooms were super clean and AC worked great. All the staff we encountered were smiling, positive and very helpful. Great location to downtown and the fun Friday night Farmers Market which had delicious food options and fun music. Walk across the side street and get croissants and chocolate zucchini bread and a large assortment of fresh made bread!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ichooseparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Dear guest, we are glad that your review reflects a positive impression of us from your recent stay here. We are equally pleased to have the opportunity to host you and, we look forward to having you back with us soon.
Best Regards,
Avenue Inn
Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2022 via mobile

We stayed for just a night, and it was very convenient and comfortable. The room was spacious and quiet. Just what we needed! All the employees we interacted with were helpful and nice. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ColleenGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

Dear Colleen, thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our customer service. We always strive to serve our guests to the best of our abilities and hence it feels great to be acknowledged for the hard work that we put in every day. Your kind words will be a great source of motivation for all of us and it's bound to make us smile. We look forward to hosting you.

Best Regards,
Avenue Inn
Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2022

A nice motel right near downtown (walkable) and convenient to Cal Poly and the 101. Price is right, it is comfortable, and staff is friendly and efficient.

Recommend for a short stay if you want to spend time downtown.

Room tip: Lower floors you will hear people above if they are heavy walkers.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DenMarkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

Dear guest, thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that you found everything in order and seemed to like our service. We hope to have the privilege of hosting you again.

Best Regards,
Avenue Inn
Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews