We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
FindHotel
US$146
View deal
Hotels.comUS$159
PricelineUS$159
TravelocityUS$159
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
226
201
79
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
226
201
79
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cal poly yogurt nice hotel decent breakfast close to downtown visiting slo comfortable beds would definitely stay here again nice stay breakfast room farmers market road trip freeway balcony campus microwave college
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2022

We have been staying here for a couple of years since our daughter is a Cal Poly student. We have liked the hotel in the past. It has really changed over the last year and this last visit was our last. The room we got for our 2 night stay had two really awful beds, very soft. We really could not sleep on it and having a bad back was a complication. After our Friday night stay and seeing many people checking out Saturday morning we asked to move. We knew there were many options for us to make a change. They did nothing to help us. Zero. We checked in many times to ask if they had a room we could move to. Of course there were options but they made no effort. I requested an extra set of sheets to sleep on the floor Saturday night. The now on duty desk person who gave us sheets commented that we should have absolutely been moved and he was going to check with his manager before we checked out for a "discount" or some accommodation. When we checked out the same girls at desk that did nothing said they could have provided discount but since we were working with "manager" they could not. We never talked to a manager as no one followed up. Paying this much money should not require you to sleep on the floor and we know there are better beds as we have slept on them in previous stays. So no caring whatsoever and any effort put forth to help. They have plenty of time to stand around and talk to each other. As a side note there once nice breakfast and coffee is now granola bars, instant oatmeal and coffee that is so bad you cannot drink it. Even the front desk people stated they switched suppliers and they hate it too. We had to go out for coffee each morning. Honestly I think they make it super weak to save a few cents. I am sorry to say they have really gone down hill and utterly failed to make any effort to move us to a room where I was not on the floor. We stayed there Feb 18/19th.

Date of stay: February 2022
Thank Y7116IEjeffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 January 2022

Stayed at La Cuesta Inn while visiting SLO for the weekend. The property is nice--updated, clean, with a decent breakfast. The service was excellent. Matt and Marcus went above and beyond to make my family's stay comfortable. The rooms were excellent--large, comfortable, clean, updated. All staff members I interacted with were friendly and professional. I would stay here again and will recommend to friends and family travelling to the area.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carly M, Guest Services / Front Office at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Thank you Mike for your awesome review!

We look forward to hosting you as well as your friends and family on their future trips to SLO! I love the staff we have here, as everyone is so kind and just such a rad team. We are proud to provide guests with the best service possible.

We have added our pancake machine since your stay and look forward to your feedback on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted a getaway after I’m done with the semester so we decided to stay here for a night. Everything was great, front desk staff were friendly and nice. The room was more comfortable than I expected. The view wasn’t that good but we didn’t really care. My boyfriend thought the toilet was a bit small for him but after all, we had a good night of sleep and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wennneyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carly M, Guest Services / Front Office at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Thank you for your awesome and thoughtful feedback!

We are so happy you chose us to host your stay in San Luis Obispo and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2021

This was the only non-chain hotel of our 2 week trip. We enjoyed 2 nights in a well lit quiet room. The bathroom featured a dim light triggered when you walked in and an exhaust fan, both nice features, The furnishings seemed new and the room had a small refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast was not fancy, but had a decent selection including wrapped local muffins and breakfast sandwiches you could heat in the microwave in the breakfast room. We had a great nights' sleep. We paid less than $90 before taxes. The location is good for downtown or Cal Poly.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carly M, Guest Services / Front Office at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Thank you for your rad review Jim!

We enjoyed hosting you and are so happy you gave us a try! Our breakfast has improved with the addition of our pancake machine and we would love your feedback on the updates.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

Very nice hotel and a wonderful location. Located at the north end of town in San Luis Obispo, it is very close to the college and the downtown area. You can walk to a few different restaurants which was nice. Hotel was clean, comfortable and had a nice continental breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cscac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carly M, Guest Services / Front Office at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Thank you for your amazing review!

I completely agree that our location is so rad! It allows us to host many Cal Poly families and we are within walking distance to downtown SLO which alleviates the stress of parking downtown.

We were able to expand our breakfast choices and look forward to your feedback on our additions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews