We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Embassy Suites”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a very nice Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo. It is located just a couple miles south of the “downtown” area near a shopping mall with several restaurants close by. There are also a couple of gas stations within ¼ of a mile.
As with all E/S’s the center atrium is the focal point, and this one is spacious, well appointed, well lit, and the restaurant and bar is located there also.
Room was nicely laid out, quite, clean, had upgraded amenities, and a refrigerator and microwave. Bed and chairs/sofa in the “front room” were comfortable.
We attended a hotel catered function during our stay, and the food was very good, nicely prepared and served by attentive staff. E/S’ standard breakfast was fine also.
Plenty of free parking, and near US Hwy 101 and Madonna Inn/Restaurant.
I like Hilton properties for the consistency and service, and this E/S is no exception. Highly recommended, and would/will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitroxprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    381
    224
    103
    59
See reviews for
482
253
39
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I spent 2 nights here in January 2012. I used it as a base to see Hearst Castle and other sights in the area. As others have pointed out, the hotel is somewhat older, but it's not that old! It's located at the end of a rather large shopping center and you park in the shopping center parking lot. That seemed kind of unusual but the area is safe.

I thought our room (suite) was perfectly fine. The WiFi worked great, although you have to pay extra for it. Why not just include this in the room rate? Come on Hilton, everyone needs WiFi in 2012! This is like charging extra for TV in 1975.

We were on the 5th floor and everything was pretty quiet. We were there on a weekend and the hotel was maybe 75% full. The breakfast was very good with someone cooking eggs and other hot foods. Much grander than a Holiday Inn Express breakfast.

If you are lazy like we were at the end of a long day, there are many restaurants in the shopping center just a short walk from the hotel.

I enjoyed my visit and I would recommend this place. It's easy to find, just off the 101 at Madonna Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. The rooms surround an atrium below and there is a bar and restaurant down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just drive to the back of the shopping center to find the hotel. One mini sign on Madonna road is hard to find. Lots of free parking in front of the hotel and it is well lighted and safe. If you read all the reviews you will know this is an older hotel. Keep this in mind and you will be happy. Yes, some of the furniture has a few dings but the room was clean. I had a couple little items in the room that needed fixing but I left my comment card at the front desk upon check out and I know they got taken care of. We stayed on a Saturday night so the hotel was busy. I let the kids have the bedroom and I took the couch. Sorta comfy for one person for one night but it is the typical sofa sleeper. The noise does travel up the atrium but it wasn't too bad and the kids said the bedroom was really quiet. Breakfast was great and worth standing in line for an omelet. The cooks were really friendly and fast. We had a great time walking the halls before breakfast to read all the fun sayings on the do not disturb signs on all the doors. The hotel is close to downtown so we went to dinner at McClintocks. We will definately stay here again when we visit SLO.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed in many places in SLO while my daughter was going to college there. The Embassy Suites was only a few dollars more than the Best Western. The breakfast and managers reception were great. Staff were great and our suite was nice. If you are going to SLO it is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We used this hotel as a base for a couple days during our drive from the Bay Area to LA. It was in a good location to visit the Hearst Castle and wineries in Paso Robles. The hotel is quite nice overall, with nicely renovated rooms, although some of the public areas look dated and in need of a remodel. However, the service sets this place apart. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, and we especially enjoyed the evening bartender and his drink recommendations. The evening manager's reception is very generous with free drinks (limited to the well, but still a great deal). And the complementary breakfast is the best I've ever had in a hotel, including those times when I've paid extra for breakfast. My only complaint is the WiFi is not complementary. That should be a basic amenity included in the price of any hotel these days.

Room Tip: Based on other travelers' tips, I requested an exterior room, so the noise from the atrium wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
578 reviews
4.0 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
4.2 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): $208 - $488
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing