We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madonna Inn
Nearby Hotels
La Cuesta Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
US$254
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$115
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granada Hotel and Bistro(San Luis Obispo)
US$359
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SLO Brew Lofts(San Luis Obispo)
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,751)
Filter reviews
1,751 results
Traveller rating
786
567
235
92
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
567
235
92
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock showercopper cafethemed roomsover the topcaveman roomrock wallsmadonna suitegold rush steakhousechampagne cakedifferent themekona rocksky roomheated toilet seatlove nestbucket listfilet mignonmen's bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 1,751 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

The Madonna Inn is one of those places you have to stay in at least once! It really has to be seen to be believed, from the themed rooms to the steakhouse and even the downstairs gents toilets (see for yourself! ).

The rooms are huge and very well done. We stayed in the Spanish Room, and thought it was great!

Don't think this place is tacky though. Everything was of the highest quality and immaculate. Every member of staff we met was very friendly and helpful and they go out of their way to make your stay a good one.

The Madonna Inn isn't the cheapest place to stay, but it's an experience like no other and somewhere you'll remember for a very long time!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ChappyR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed at the Madonna Inn for one night as part of our honeymoon in June 2016. On arrival the staff were pleasant and informative. Our room was the 'Chestnut Foal' - all the rooms are decorated around an individual quirky theme. We loved it - comfy king size bed, beautiful views from the window (we were on the second floor) and large shower cubicle with wonderful shower and lovely Madonna Inn toiletries. We even had a bottle of champagne placed in our room with a big pink bow, complements of the hotel for our honeymoon.
We ate in the Copper Café - the food was delicious and out server was friendly and efficient. There was a dance class on the night we were there, so we went to the main restaurant too, to watch the dancing.
The hotel itself is spread over quite a large area, but we found it was really pleasant to walk between the buildings - they have a lovely 'secret garden' to explore. The pool area was also beautiful, with a big waterfall - we didn't use the pool due to our short stay, but did go for a look and it was spotlessly clean.
The hotel is big on outlandish décor (fuschia pink steakhouse anyone??) and it doesn't skimp on colour or pattern anywhere! But that's one of the reasons I loved it. There is a lot of information about the history of the hotel in each of the rooms too, which was great to read up on.
The hotel offer trips to local wineries with a packed lunch and wine tasting for 28 dollars! I thought this was great value, but we didn't have time.
They also have a gift shop where you can buy souvenirs, including the fabulous coloured glass goblets they use in their restaurants.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this quirky, beautiful hotel - it may not be to everyone's taste, but its one of the best places I have stayed!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MReid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Our stay at the Madonna in was not exactly as welcoming at the reception desk. The room was entertaining. The toilet kept running on and off. Parking was limited. The pool was nice. The bartender was attentive as well. The next morning breakfast was okay? Our waiter was
Very attentive. His replacement not as much. Overall I would rate the experience as a 3.5 out of 5.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank msogho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

This hotel is like stepping back in time when travelers accommodations were part of the journey. Our room had two king size beds, and a huge stone fireplace, and was the cleanest hotel I have been to in along time. The restaurant although pricey was so much fun with live music and the pool was perfect at 85 degrees on a chilly evening. What a fun experience!

Stayed: August 2015
Thank 107Manteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Happened to be there by accident through a mixed up booking with Embassy suites in San Luis Obispo. Luckily , Madonna had a vacancy. The property is overwhelmingly Kitsch, spacious, and does provide outstanding service in the main restaurant.
The dinner fare is tradional, but high quality (for basics) , serves decent wines and has a decor that keeps your eyes busy and distracted.
Then comes the room. Impossible to describe the Visuals. Huge, 4 post King size beds.
XXX large overstuffed sofa facing a huge faux stone fireplace. Burgundy plush carpet,
thick curtains, outdated aircon chugging away at great noise huge bathroom, nice amenities, I am still not sure wheather I was overwhelmed by the kitsch, or the uniqueness of the experience. Give it a try because for one thing, it will be an unforgettable experience

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hongkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews