We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Priceline
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Expedia.comUS$104
Hotels.comUS$104
Trip.comUS$110
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
3
4
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
4
3
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2020

I stayed here for 3 nights and I was pleasantly surprised with how nice my room was... Very updated and clean, with all of the most important amenities . Also, The parking lot was spaced out well with larger parking spaces and the was an ice machine and soda machine just down the walkway. The pool area was open and very clean as well. The staff was quite pleasant and helpful. I would certainly stay there again. I would rate this particular Vagabond Inn as being fairly nicer than most other Vagabond inn's I have stayed at in the past. My 3 night stay was quite reasonable price as well.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank raisorby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave us your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel - large room with 3 queen beds was great for our family and a great rate.

Only thing needed was a thorough cleaning of the floor - we cleaned it with wash cloths and housekeeping wiped it with a mop but the towel they used to dry it came up dirty so the mopping was far from sufficient. Advice, ask them to mop it very well before arriving and then keep your shoes on while there.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CAMom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Good day. We've since implemented some changes to our procedures for the cleaning of floors in particular. This feedback helped us make changes for the better, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

Room was clean. But the football field light directed at the rooms, NOT OK. The hotel also seems to offer vouchers for the homeless and at $180/220 a night I would have liked to know that before booking a weekend getaway... very noisy, people talking at all hours of the night! Will not be going back. .

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 977rosariol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Thanks for the feedback. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As for the vouchers, we have never offered such a program.

The lights in the parking lot were made bright, we are working on preventing the light from seeping into the rooms .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2020

Rooms have been nicely redecorated. Old carpet and drapes were removed and replaced with much cleaner feeling laminate and shutters. Convenient power outlets have been added. We enjoyed our stay until a big delivery refrigerator truck with a nonstop compressor was parked outside the room windows. Called front office to see when noise and vibration into room would end and were told "That's the way it will be all night. The driver is staying and the compressor will continue to run."Asked if it could be parked away from rooms, but was told no. After returning home, called hotel to discuss and were told driver stays every Thursday night, and compressor runs. You fix up the rooms to entice customers, but ruin chances of return after this sort of disruption. Would like to give higher rating, but because of this, can not.

Date of stay: May 2020
Thank sqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Our apologies for that truck fridge running. Our property is kept quiet for the benefit of all guests. Thanks for letting us know and we'll aim to improve our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Items that make the stay enjoyable: Quite, pool, clean rooms, attentive personnel, shopping center across street, several restaurants close, 20% discount at Denny's next door, Highway 101 and city very close.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank BuckeyeLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond I, General Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

We appreciate your stay at the Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo. Thank You for your feedback, as it highlights the convenience of our property from the guests perspective. If there is anything we can do better, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly as our goal is to provide exceptional service while providing a clean product to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews