We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Priceline
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Expedia.comUS$104
Hotels.comUS$104
FindHotelUS$111
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
3
4
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
4
3
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2022 via mobile

Our family, two adults and four teens, stayed in the 3Q room one night. I was not expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. The pool and hot tub were very nice. The man who checked us in was very nice. The room had everything we needed and was large. Good location, close to a lot. There was a smell outside our room that was pretty bad, like urine, but once we closed the door we couldn't smell it. We didn't have any issues with noise. Liked having the fridge. I liked the set-up of the bathroom - toilet and shower enclosed with the sink and closet separate. This allowed some of us to brush our teeth while someone else showered or used the bathroom.

Room tip: There aren't any towels at the pool, so you'll need to bring one from your room.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katehH8463CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

I only give it two stars because they refunded my money and the front desk staff was nice and apologetic.

The bed sheets were stained with multiple colored substances. The room was extremely loud! Someone was taking a shower in a room next to us and it sounded like a train passing by. There were long hair strands on the pillows and mattress sheets.

The final straw was a lady outside of our room yelling “i can’t find my lighter. Do you have one? I found some good s**t, let me know if you want some”. Very shady. There was a baby crying somewhere in the hotel and we could hear it as if it was next door. Paper thin walls!

This is not something I was expecting for $220 a night. Very surprised on how other reviews were good. Stay away.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

We'll be addressing nay points made with our staff so this experience is not repeated. Thanks for the honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2022

We have stayed at a variety of places in SLO from the funny /touristy Madonna Inn to a variety of nice and budget priced motels. We have flown in and out of SLO's little gem of an airport several times to pick up our stored RV and begin our fortunate travels. We need a motel when arriving to sort things out over a day or so and have stayed the last 2 times at Vagabond = basic but very convenient, affordble, clean, with pool and hot tub and 20% discount on breakfast at Denny's next door. We could afford more, but why pay more? Check them out!
M&C - married 52 years, retired RNs from Quincy,MA

Room tip: No real views- first floor best.
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandCyndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, and we appreciate you staying with us twice. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2021

We were unable to get a reservation at the Madonna Inn so had to stay here. I think convents provide plusher accomodations. The bed was tiny, the noise level was over the top, and the furnishings were strictly low level Home Depot. Fake wood flooring, no drapes, poorly fitted blinds. The ac was ineffective and very loud. This place defines cheap but it's not. It was over $230 for 1 lousy night. Never again.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corneliav247
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Thanks for the feedback and for giving us a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Needed an extended stay here is SLO and the Vagabond was extremely accomodating. They provided excellent service and went above and beyond anytime a question arose. They have continued to improve their property as well as their service. Recommend highly and will visit again when in the area.

Room tip: Easy access to rooms. Plenty of parking. Staff friendly and helpful.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roberteY9318SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vagabond Inn, Owner at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Thank you for leaving us your review - we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews