We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands By The Sea Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located very close to Hearst castle. Room was clean and we could see a little of the ocean from our room and we could hear the crashing waves. Nice area outside with a huge chess, checker and tic tax toe boards as well as fire places and chairs located overseeing the ocean. Indoor pool was warm enough to take a dip. Restaurant next door at their sister hotel. Only negative was that the TV was fuzzy and it was game 7 of MLB World Series.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank a1bb2ccc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

sands by the sea , great hotel , great location by the sea , had a great king bed room , good price , by the ocean , fire pits at night time , the restaurant is close by , great food , Hearst castle short drive away ,

Room Tip: Had a king bed , room was big ,, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Our stay was comfortable enough and the location right by the beach is lovely, with fire pits available for guests to use. However, the service since we left has been despicable and uncaring. We accidentally left an iPad on the bed when we checked out, phoned later that day when we realised but have had no support from the hotel in locating it. Housekeeping were only 2 doors down when we left so it should have been found almost immediately, yet after several phone calls to the hotel we still have no news. Some have taken our number and said they would call back (but haven't) while another said they're not allowed to phone us. Each time we've rung we've felt that we're being fobbed off and nothing's going to happen. 4 days later we still have no news of the iPad, yet know it was left in the bed and the door locked when we left. Not good enough.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HelsB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Room was ok, Bathroom was terrible. The resturant was ok but no great shakes, the steaks were very weird really didn't think the americans could get it wrong, but even they can do a bad steak. The night area was good with the fire burners going looked very nice.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the sea much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

The property is old, however the room decor was modern & updated. The bathroom was somewhat updated, somewhat old & not well-kept. Overall a very comfortable overnight stay @ a good price, perfectly fine stop near Hearst Castle & if you are driving Highway 1.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,884 reviews
0.3 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
921 reviews
4.6 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
594 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
274 reviews
0.1 km away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands By The Sea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands By The Sea Motel

Address: 9355 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9750
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $101 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands By The Sea Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sands By The Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel San Simeon
Sands Motel San Simeon
Sands Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing