We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
156
336
252
84
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
336
252
84
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshearst castleroom was cleanliquor storea bit overpricedelephant sealsmini martone night staybar and grillocean viewheated poolovernight stoproad triplong drivecoffee makerking bedcambriaelvis
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

A no-frills room with a view of the ocean for under $100! Situated on a bluff across the highway from the ocean, this is a clean, no-frills motel that is perfectly satisfactory. We worried that we would hear lots of noise and commotion from a vintage car group that were arriving and setting up a large gathering in the center of the property, but truly, things were extremely quiet after the sun went down. Restaurant on the property is fine, though pretty pricey for the quality of the food. If you want to stay somewhere super close to Hearst Castle and the Sea Lion Rookery, than this is a fine choice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Polly1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Though a little shopworn in some places, our bedroom was clean and bright and the bed comfortable. The grounds and pool are well-kept too.This was our second stay, and we'll be back. So nice to walk to the beach!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Umbeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a quiet location just off highway 1. The owners were very friendly at check-in and everything went smoothly.

The rooms are not very large, but perfectly adequate and very clean. Everything felt as though it had been recently renovated. We went for a sea view room which is quite far from the beach, but still a nice view and the sound of crashing waves throughout the night was lovely.

We didn't eat in the restaurant which was very pricey for what looked like fairly basic stuff. However, there are two stores in walking distance, one of which was attached to the hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is an older hotel but clean with comfortable beds and a restaurant that offers breakfast to dinner. They worked hard to add little things to make it more upscale. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend it.!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank marypoppinswannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Had a great time visiting the coast! San Simeon was quiet and perfect for a little R&R! The lodge was clean and the room was nice, a little smaller but we didn’t spend a lot of time in the room! The balcony overlooked a very green and lush courtyard. The pool was clean and water refreshing to my daughter and I! The bed was comfy and we all slept well. We usually go to the bar and grill for Elvis... he hosts karaoke and it is always fun but we had our baby with us this time!!! It was a great time! Price very reasonable!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank CelinaManzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews