We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel No beach view an walk to beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Stayed one night at The Morgan.Nice clean hotel but no ocean view or on ocean.Others in area do on Hearst Dr. . Next to nice Mexican restaurant. <El Chorlito>. We did walk about a 1/2 mile to the back of a hotel near by who had Ocean views an access to beach. Hotel has a nice pool in closed with open ceiling.Nice for poor or windy weather.Rooms nothing special. Had Jacuzzi tubs but not working . Maybe now. They said not because of water shortage.

Room Tip: No ocean view an must walk to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

It's OK for one night when visiting Hearst castle, but this is an old property. They are putting in new hall carpeting but the rooms are odd. Furniture placement can be described as annoying. The bathroom is an example of bad design. Toilet is way too low.
Hotel walls are not well insulated as you can hear television and talking from other guest rooms...and that is annoying. The hotel has a distant view of the ocean but can not be described as near the ocean.
I thought the complimentary breakfast was excellent....but you have to walk from one building to the main building hosting the breakfast and pool area. Check in was most unprofessional and unwelcoming. The woman at the makeshift table could have cared less we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brodie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Standard room in a fading hotel. Perfectly comfortable beds and the (gas) fireplace in the room gave it some charm.
The breakfast included was slightly above average and seemed popular with fellow travellers.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Owoteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Our stay at the Morgan was very nice. Or room included a nice gas fireplace. We had a view of the ocean over the parking lot and a few houses. The continental breakfast buffet was nice unfortunately, there wasn't enough protein available so we chose to eat elsewhere.
The room was decorated beautifully with Julia Morgan drawings from Hearst Castle.
Wine was available in the room at a reasonable price.
We were on a little get away and enjoyed it very much

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank girardmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We recently took our two teenage grandsons to Hearst Castle and stayed at the Morgan. The location is perfect--only two miles from the Hearst Castle and the rates are very reasonable. Our room was large, well appointed, very clean and quiet, and our beds were comfortable. The lobby is inviting and the staff are gracious. There are a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance that have good service and very good food. We were very satisfied with our stay at The Morgan and would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are no views. We had a corner room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ctschiltsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.4 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,907 reviews
4.3 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.8 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
8.2 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
5,004 reviews
5.8 km away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $169 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing