We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$109
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$98
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$241
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveller rating
226
388
208
84
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
388
208
84
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastthe mexican restaurantbagelshearst castleceiling fangas fireplaceboiled eggsdown the roadelephant sealsocean viewheart castlebed was very comfortablepaso roblesnice roomstayed one nightcentral coastshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 942 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here because we were visiting Hearst Castle the next day and we wanted somewhere romantic to stay. The price was really good and we were not disappointed.

We got a room with an ocean view, and it was very lovely. It had a fireplace, which was nice, and there was a sofa to relax on as I listened to the crashing waves of the ocean. I also thought the little toilet paper rose was a cute touch.

The room was very nice, comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was nothing special, and I actually felt the breakfast was beneath the hotel's ambiance, but that is a very minor complaint.

Be warned, if stairs are hard for you just know there is no elevator. Fortunately, it was not an issue for us.

The beach is the a few minutes walk away and the area is very nice. Hearst Castle is just a few minutes drive away and the tourist town of Cambria is also close by.

I wish we could have stayed longer. I found it very relaxing.

Also, as of this writing, if you are coming from the north on highway 1, the road is closed at Big Sur and you will have to take a detour from Monterey.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank griffinkay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilem G, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great, detailed response. You pointed out a good point of improving our breakfast and we are surely in the process. We will await your return and hope you enjoy it just as much, or more. Thank you for warning our readers about the highway! It is set to open later in 2018. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night and is was great. Very clean and warm . Very close to various interesting places like the heart castle, authentic Mexican food (the terrace) and the view from the room was very nice.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilem G, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you can return and stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Stayed here with my family a couple weeks ago. Location is wonderful-- you're 10 minutes away from Hearst Castle, and 5 minutes from Moonstone Beach. The included breakfast is really minimal-- a few thermoses of coffee and a toaster, basically. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I was pleasantly surprised. Everything worked well even if there is no "wow" factor. Check-in fast and friendly, room big enough, clean with all we needed. Same for the bath room. Wifi quite ok and so was the breakfast. The rooms have no AC but the fan worked well, even in one of the hot september days. The Mexican restaurant next door doesn't´t get the same score, though, far from.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brutusOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

One of the best places to stay for accomodation, in California. Great views of the coast and very peaceful, relaxing place to launch your visit to Hearst Castle, which is just down the road.Cambria is just several miles south of The Morgan and well worth the visit. Bedding is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and content breakfast in the morning would not leave many wanting.

Room Tip: Room facing the coast as the sounds of the ocean will lull you to sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonycolhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilem G, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We appreciate you taking the time out to review! Thank you so much, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews