We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip stop from Los Angeles.”
Review of Santa Barbara Zoo

Santa Barbara Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This zoo with a view was once a posh estate owned by a coffee and tea merchant; now it's the lush domain of more than 500 animals representing 160 species. The pink stucco mansion that once presided over manicured lawns and gardens is gone—replaced by open-air habitats built for the less refined but still exacting tastes of giraffes, elephants, gibbons, snow leopards and gorillas. What hasn't changed is the surrounding scenery; the Pacific and Santa Ynez Mountains are just as spectacular as they were back when this was the setting for civilized galas instead of the wild antics of monkeys and meerkats.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 21 January 2018

The zoo is not too large, but appears to have newer enclosures and a very friendly staff. Was a great way to spend a few hours.

1  Thank Kellen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thanks, Kellen!

Don't forget, families can enjoy the zoo, then walk across the street to East Beach.

Taking AMTRAK up from LA and then jumping on the MTD Water Front Shuttle (just fifty cents!) also adds to the fun. The Water Front Shuttle picks at Stearns Warf (about a block from the train station) and lets you out at the SB Zoo front gate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"train ride"
in 90 reviews
"giraffe feeding"
in 39 reviews
"animals seem"
in 23 reviews
"perfect size"
in 33 reviews
"california condors"
in 17 reviews
"few hours"
in 58 reviews
"ocean view"
in 23 reviews
"all ages"
in 36 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 31 reviews
"bird refuge"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 24 reviews
"los angeles"
in 15 reviews
"state street"
in 14 reviews
"enclosures"
in 54 reviews
"exhibits"
in 147 reviews
"cardboard"
in 44 reviews
"snow"
in 20 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Family visit to the zoo with an elderly member was excellent! Great exhibits and close up interactions maje this one of my Favorite places to visit! Consessions are available thru out the facilities!!

Thank 1busyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks, Busyman!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Grew up in SB going to this zoo. Now when I visit I take my daughter.Though not a big fan of zoos - this one is gorgeous and the animals seem to get good care. My daughter has enjoyed it many times.

Thank Ally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Your review made our day. Thanks for the thoughtful posting, Ally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We had a wonderful day at the zoo. This is a lovely little zoo with a fantastic and well informed staff! Zoo is very well maintained. We personally got to feed the 5 giraffes. Amazing! Also notable was the train conductor who knew all about the zoo history and about the animals and their habits. He stopped when one of the animals was doing something special he thought we should see and explained what was happening. My 7 year old also really enjoyed the playground which was themed to the zoo. Great day we will be back!

Thank JFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

This is one of our favorite zoos! It is small and manageable. It is so pretty with views of the ocean. You can bring your own picnic lunch and enjoy it in the very spacious lawn and even watch a Dino show. The kids can run, cartwheel and slide to their hearts content! Bring your own cardboard to slide on the little hill in the children's playground if you don't want to wait for a piece to become available. Make sure to feed the giraffes which is so much fun! They also have rock climbing and a little train ride. My kids are 9 and 12 and love to visit this zoo.

Thank 333Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks, Christie! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Barbara Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing