We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Brightness of home away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach House Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brightness of home away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My room was ready when I arrived from the train station at around 10:30 am. My 20% car free discount was honored after presenting my ticket stub. I was given the key to my room and directed upstairs (Queen Patio).

I had a spacious room with lots of sun light. It was clean and reminded me of being home away from home. There was a closet with plenty of hangers, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker (with coffee, sugar, creamer), toaster, and cupboard with glasses, dishes, and utensils. There were plenty of drawers as well.

The bathroom has the pink tile as advertised which brought a whimsical feel. The window provided a view of the courtyard and the quiet residential neighborhood.

There was a flat screen TV mounted on the wall with sufficient channels to keep me occupied. There was a ceiling fan as well as a standing fan with controls. There was a gas fireplace which was a nice touch ... useful in cold mornings. The bedroom windows provided a view in the direction of the beach but without the hustle and bustle of traffic or crowd. I stayed mid-week, Wednesday and Thursday in November 2011, so I really appreciated the quiet time.

The deck was nice but I didn't really use it that much. It was good for the view and I enjoyed the night sky in the evenings. Sunset colors were nice, too, when I returned from a wine tour one day.

I was in Santa Barbara for a leisure stay and being at Beach House Inn was the ideal place to be after walking and sightseeing during the day. It was comfortable, quiet, and cozy, and the brightness and warmth of sun light in the morning were invigorating. I had what I needed and was very pleased. I would stay again when I get the chance to visit Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: I would book the Queen room (upstairs) again for a solo traveler like me. I like the spaciousness of...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank blgrn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    41
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
88
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

What a nice place! Charm spilling out all over the place, and one of the few places I've stayed where I wish I had MORE time to spend in the room. The room for three guests was bigger than my apartment, with a full kitchen, living room and bedroom. The kitchen had all amenities, including a table, glasses and dishes, dishwashing liquid, silverware, etc. The living room was spacious, and the bedroom the same. My favorite touch may be the cute little touches in the bathroom, but I won't spoil the surprise - small things, but made me smile. The one thing they could do to improve the room would be to add some additional mirrors, but this may have only stuck out to me because I was travelling with three women and there was a lot of makeup applying to do with little place to do it. Quiet area, not far from the beach, short walk to the shops -- all in all, I would love to be able to visit again and would stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blinky8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a great little place - stayed here on my way through a California roadtrip where I was making my way on a budget, and this was a really welcome change from roadside motels.

I arrived early and was greeted by the incredibly friendly owner, who not only let me in ahead of check-in time but also gave me various tips for how to explore Santa Barbara. Then when I got into the room I was pleasantly surprised by the space - and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Clean, friendly, affordable and most of all charming - I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossFarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I was fortunate enough to secure a room at the last minute here. I have traveled extensively throughout europe and frequented many B&B's. This rivals the best and I would not hesitate in the least to recommend it. The rooms are absolutely sparkling and the staff is super friendly. Forget the big chains and don't be a number. Although I live just around the block, I always have my out-of-town guest reside there for the full amenties are perfect. Great job to Pam and her crew!!!

Christopher C. from Santa Barbara..

Room Tip: All rooms have a fireplace in lieu of a heater so you can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Saanich, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I stopped for one night on our way up the coast without having booked accommodation in advance. We found this place on Tripadvisor and were so pleased when we arrived. This inn is an absolute gem! The owners are so friendly and keep the rooms absolutely immaculate. We had hoped for a nice room and maybe a fridge but to our delight there was a full kitchen, as well as a king sized very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with dressing area outside of it. Outside, there is a pretty little grassed courtyard with comfy chairs and little bistro tables to sit at. After checking in we went off to explore the beautiful town of Santa Barbara, came back, made dinner and walked the two short blocks to the boardwalk along the beach. What a wonderful little stop and for sure we will stay here again, only next time for longer.
p.s. The price is amazing too!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.6 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.1 km away
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn

Property: Beach House Inn
Address: 320 West Yanonali Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): $274 - $396
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Beach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing