We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$286
US$266
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$221
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agave Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castillo Inn at the Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montecito Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Upham Hotel(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
236
190
64
40
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
190
64
40
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smalltrain stationglass dooreuropean stylestate streetthe urban wine trailsmall desklocation is greatshower stallwalking distanceoutdoor patiorailroad tracksshort staygarden roomking bedstayed one nightroad trip
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and two dogs for two nights. The hotel is in a charming, walkable area that leads to a pier. All employees were very kind, even the servers next door —they took our meals to our room. I highly recommend for those who travel with their pets.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jocelyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

I stayed at this hotel knowing the rooms were small due to reference from a local friend and co-worker. Yes, the rooms are small but if you want a nice renovated and clean hotel that's walking distance from both, Stearns Warf and downtown with good prices, I would recommend this hotel. The staff was welcoming and helpful and they have many amenities that compensate for the room size such as free bikes, happy hour and free wi-fi. The only downside I found was that they don't have any in room dining facility, even though they have a restaurant right next door that connects with the lobby.

Room Tip: Best are doble bed rooms. Rooms with patio are smaller.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DLYNCHPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

I can not understand the positive reviews. The staff was great but it ended there. To say the rooms are small is an understatement. You also hear everyone who is passing in the hall. For the price you will pay for this room you should be able to enter your bathroom without first closing the shower door.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank gms06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your comment about our staff. Our staff always strives to provide the guest experience. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Our compact size rooms featuring European style wet bathrooms allow us to reduce our ecological footprint and be a “Green Engage” hotel with IHG. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Yes, several reviews mentioned the small rooms, but nobody could've expected this. The bed, small desk, and closet occupy nearly the entire room; there is almost no other free space. (It's hard even to imagine if you haven't seen it.) The bathroom is barely 6x6 including all fixtures, meaning only about 1/4 of it is available for walking or standing.

The sense of cramped quarters -- the feeling that you're snaking your way through a passage, that two people almost can't walk past each other in most spots -- was constant; and we're both slim people accustomed to small apartments. For $330 a night I expected better. (The frequently offered excuse that it's "European" in character falls flat when you ponder what it's being compared to. I've stayed dozens of budget accommodations throughout western Europe and have never seen anything even remotely this small.)

To be clear, the room was immaculately clean, the decor and fixtures were modern and innovative, and the staff was courteous and professional (though you could sort of tell they were aware of the poor value). None of that saves this experience. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Hello Mark T,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad that you found the hotel cleanliness and staff service excellent! With that said, I am sorry you found the room received small. Your comments regarding the room size have been shared with the hotel management as reference during the periodic review of the property.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful, but beware rooms are tiny with just enough room for the bed.
No where to lay a suitcase down
Bathroom fine, but tiny.

Near the railway , trains seemed to enjoy blowing their whistle as they passed by.

Staff friendly.

Breakfast not included but you can have it in the adjoining Mexican cafe. Loud music at 8am not appreciated

Return, no there must be better

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you found the energy of our hotel to be cheerful! Our compact size rooms and bathrooms allow us to reduce our carbon footprint and be a "Green Engage" hotel with IHG. Our proximity to the train station is extremely helpful for our guests who decide to travel car-free via public transportation. I understand that the train noise can be bothersome on vacation and if you do decide to return to our hotel, you are welcome to request for a room on the other side of the hotel. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews