We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Weekend Camping Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We normally camp at state and national parks. This was our first time at a private campsite. Fees were $53 per nite per campsite, so more than twice what I'm used to paying.

Camp was crowded, but staff came by at 11 pm to quiet things down and that was much appreciated.

Our campsite was nothing but dirt, but we are used to that. Staff watered down dirt road twice in the afternoon.

Teen kids really enjoyed pool, fields, and ice cream social. Live band by pool from 7pm to 10pm on Saturday and dj on Sunday same time -- probably due to holiday weekend. Kids liked band.

Petting zoo was for viewing from afar, so no petting which is fine for me. Wine tasting on sat at 4, but I had my own wine tasting at my campsite. Lots of horses on property, but we didn't ride them.

Free hot showers and flush toilets. This place fits a lot of rv's, trailers, and tent campers. Cool looking wagons and old west cabins.

With such a large facility, I can see how things can get out of hand. Too many party goers can ruin it with loud music and drunkenness.

Overall, we had a good time and would go back on non holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DowneyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 457 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

We decided to go to Rancho Oso, per everyone's recomendations & some friends who had also stayed there. We LOVED it!! the adults stayed in the cabins & the teenagers & tweens stayed in the covered wagon. While it was cute the 1st night, the wagon, it does get very cold & it's loud from the other campers so i definetely recommend getting a couple of cabins.while they do not have a bathroom inside, they are directly in front of the cabins, it was not a problem. Nxt day we took a hay ride, visited the animals in the farm, went on nicely marked trails, rode horses we hung out at the family lodge, we brought our own games. We signed up, for dinner by 3; it was delicious! as well as their breakfast's, very hearly. The night we arrived we missed dinner, so we ended up going to Cold Springs Tavern which was a lovely surprise! but on the higher end, delicious. brought water, snacks & fruit. Next time we'll bring a camping grill, & make a couple of meals, as most people do. Happy Trails!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CeciliaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

If you choose to stay at Rancho Oso, be warned, tent camping is great if you like to stay awake until 4 am listening to drunk people swearing and laughing. If your into partying then this is the place for you... otherwise , be warned, tent campers are stuck way in the back of the property and there is no one there to oversee and make sure people are obeying the no radio and quiet hour rules. The only other option that would be tolerable is to stay in your own camper or rent a cabin... those are closer to the front of the property with lovely horse views and access to the "ranger" if needed. The staff was grouchy. One of the wranglers hauled off and punched the horse she was getting ready for a guest to ride. Apparently this horse was known to be cinchy and also a biter... later that evening I saw that same horse out in the pasture and he had bald patches and many scars on his body from ill fitting tack.... so probably the reason for the biting. I would give a bite too if I were in pain. The natural beauty is the highlight of the ranch for sure. If we did ever decide to stay there again I would bring our own horses and stay in the cabins or our trailer which would be ideal. I think they give a lot of consideration and effort to the overall experience, but could use a facelift in attitude and appearance. I don't think that the 43 dollars a night for tent camping was not a fair price given the location of the tent sites and the condition of the campground.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank seaswan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We just came back from a wonderful stay at Rancho Oso and recommended 100%. Within five minutes of arriving we had seen horses, cows, bulls, chickens, roosters, squirrels and tons of birds. Our boys were thrilled! The campground and facilities were clean. We really liked that no music is allowed outside the rvs. We camped in a tent and really liked the site. There are a few sites that did not look as comfortable (not flat enough) but I guess it would be ok for smaller tents. It is awesome to have trails to walk, a park for the kids, basketball court, volleyball, pools , tether ball and minigolf al in the same place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can take tours on horses but the kids have to be eight years old. For younger kids they get guided walks. My five year old was super happy riding. The guide was child friendly and very appropriate. The drive up from Santa Barbara is not too bad. We definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peacemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at ranco oso for one night in our own rv. Overall for $50 a night it was well worth it. Our kids loved the opportunity to ride horses on the trails. Be prepared with cash to tip your guides. They have 2 pools and a great play area with tether ball basketball and mini golf. Ate the spaghetti dinner on Friday night...nothing fantastic but for $8 for adult $3 for kids...for salad, bread and an adequate plate it was worth not having to cook or clean. Bring your own drinks or pay $1 for soda There is lots to do. My kids loved seeing the goats, chickens and massive pig and enormous steer. The bathrooms were well lit
and clean. Would loved to have stayed longer.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
10.8 km away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
16.1 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
14.2 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
15.4 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
371 reviews
39.5 km away
Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort

Address: 3750 Paradise Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-9777
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $229 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of the Old West abounds in this family-oriented rustic ranch setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Oso Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing