We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Upham Hotel & Country House(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inn At East Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Montecito Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$285
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$232
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castillo Inn at the Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
321
156
57
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
156
57
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthousand trailswild turkeysminiature golfstone lodgelos padrescovered wagonspaghetti dinnernational forestlake cachumaping pongfull hookupstri tipsanta ynezwine tastingwi fifire pithot tub
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We decided to go to Rancho Oso, per everyone's recomendations & some friends who had also stayed there. We LOVED it!! the adults stayed in the cabins & the teenagers & tweens stayed in the covered wagon. While it was cute the 1st night, the wagon, it does get very cold & it's loud from the other campers so i definetely recommend getting a couple of cabins.while they do not have a bathroom inside, they are directly in front of the cabins, it was not a problem. Nxt day we took a hay ride, visited the animals in the farm, went on nicely marked trails, rode horses we hung out at the family lodge, we brought our own games. We signed up, for dinner by 3; it was delicious! as well as their breakfast's, very hearly. The night we arrived we missed dinner, so we ended up going to Cold Springs Tavern which was a lovely surprise! but on the higher end, delicious. brought water, snacks & fruit. Next time we'll bring a camping grill, & make a couple of meals, as most people do. Happy Trails!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CeciliaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

If you choose to stay at Rancho Oso, be warned, tent camping is great if you like to stay awake until 4 am listening to drunk people swearing and laughing. If your into partying then this is the place for you... otherwise , be warned, tent campers are stuck way in the back of the property and there is no one there to oversee and make sure people are obeying the no radio and quiet hour rules. The only other option that would be tolerable is to stay in your own camper or rent a cabin... those are closer to the front of the property with lovely horse views and access to the "ranger" if needed. The staff was grouchy. One of the wranglers hauled off and punched the horse she was getting ready for a guest to ride. Apparently this horse was known to be cinchy and also a biter... later that evening I saw that same horse out in the pasture and he had bald patches and many scars on his body from ill fitting tack.... so probably the reason for the biting. I would give a bite too if I were in pain. The natural beauty is the highlight of the ranch for sure. If we did ever decide to stay there again I would bring our own horses and stay in the cabins or our trailer which would be ideal. I think they give a lot of consideration and effort to the overall experience, but could use a facelift in attitude and appearance. I don't think that the 43 dollars a night for tent camping was not a fair price given the location of the tent sites and the condition of the campground.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank seaswan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We just came back from a wonderful stay at Rancho Oso and recommended 100%. Within five minutes of arriving we had seen horses, cows, bulls, chickens, roosters, squirrels and tons of birds. Our boys were thrilled! The campground and facilities were clean. We really liked that no music is allowed outside the rvs. We camped in a tent and really liked the site. There are a few sites that did not look as comfortable (not flat enough) but I guess it would be ok for smaller tents. It is awesome to have trails to walk, a park for the kids, basketball court, volleyball, pools , tether ball and minigolf al in the same place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can take tours on horses but the kids have to be eight years old. For younger kids they get guided walks. My five year old was super happy riding. The guide was child friendly and very appropriate. The drive up from Santa Barbara is not too bad. We definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peacemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at ranco oso for one night in our own rv. Overall for $50 a night it was well worth it. Our kids loved the opportunity to ride horses on the trails. Be prepared with cash to tip your guides. They have 2 pools and a great play area with tether ball basketball and mini golf. Ate the spaghetti dinner on Friday night...nothing fantastic but for $8 for adult $3 for kids...for salad, bread and an adequate plate it was worth not having to cook or clean. Bring your own drinks or pay $1 for soda There is lots to do. My kids loved seeing the goats, chickens and massive pig and enormous steer. The bathrooms were well lit
and clean. Would loved to have stayed longer.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This place is perfect: camping under beautiful trees, swimming pools, horses, non-stop entertainment for our kids on Saturday, horse-shoes, ice-cream socials, bingo...you name it. The staff was absolutely wonderful, so friendly and kind. And the country store is run by the most lovely woman....where nothing is over-priced. We are looking so forward to going back there and have told so many people about this wonderful find. Take bikes for your kids, the place is very large. (Oh, and the bathroom, shower and laundry facilities are terrific!)

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank love2campcostamesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews