We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love The Lark!”
Review of The Lark

The Lark
Ranked #43 of 586 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.
Description: The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We love the Funk Zone. As State Street continues to decline, the Funk Zone continues to grow and thrive. The Lark is our favorite restaurant in this area, and one of our favorites in the city and along the Central Coast. It’s a fun place to hang out to drink and to eat — with a great ambiance and a high energy level. We love the decor and enjoy sitting anywhere inside or outside. It’s very popular, so make a reservation. They will try to work in those without reservations but the wait can be long and there isn’t a great place to wait. You can head to the bar, but that’s the hub of this place and it’s usually jammed.

We thoroughly enjoy the food here, and always start with one of their excellent specialty cocktails and a half dozen oysters — some of the best we’ve ever had. The cocktail of choice this time was the La Huerta—very good! On this visit we split the roasted Brussels Sprouts, the White Sea Bass, and the Hanger Steak. Everything was wonderfully prepared and delicious. We finished with coffee and an order of Fritters and ice cream, which we enjoyed.

Our service was very good, albeit a bit harried at times. Our server warmed up and slowed down at the table as our dinner went along.

We will certainly return.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jonr105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We visited after reading such good reviews & expected great things. Upon arrival, 10 mins prior to our reservation we were told the table wasn’t ready so to wait outside, as there was nowhere to wait we went to a bar next door, then we came back & were told the table was just being set so to again wait outside. There was no friendly greeting or welcome, we then stood around outside, being made to feel completely in the way, by one waitress in particular who kept rudely pushing past us & abruptly telling us to move. There were also other groups of people waiting while there were a lot of empty tables inside, surely it would be better just to get people to wait inside, so they are not blocking the entrance? Then when our table was ready, the charm was suddenly switched on & we were greeted properly as were were taken through. Our waiter was very charming & friendly, however our first impression was still of being made to feel unwelcome & almost as if we were a nuisance! The food came & it was good, not amazing or out of this world but totally ok, then when the bill came my husband immediately went to hand over his credit card, the waiter proceeded to ignore him & go to chat to another table for 15 minutes leaving us waiting, it wasn’t until we got up to leave that another waitress came to take our payment so we could leave. All in all we found our visit to be disappointing, the food is ok but the service was inconsistent, staff turn on the charm when it suits but otherwise are quite dismissive & uninterested in offering genuine good service. This restaurant is trying too hard to be cool & edgy & is forgetting the basics of good customer service!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank juliehZ6630SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Great service fast and friendly...Really great brussel sprouts, free appetizer popcorn, and the apple fritters were super

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelshooter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

When we sat down for dinner our preliminary review of the menu left us curious and a bit unsettled. Since it was family style farm to table dining we were unsure how the four of us would be able to eat. We started out with the most incredible brussels sprouts I’ve ever eaten. Also they had a pretzel with mustard and butter which was also an outstanding appetizer. I was three main courses were Seabass, diver scallops, and a pasta that was just out of this world. But the coolest Thing was the start with sea salt and vinegar popcorn. Almost too full for dessert but we opted for the espresso ice cream sandwiches which were also delicious. All in all an outstanding meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Located in the vibrant "Funk Zone" of Santa Barbara where there are lots of brew pubs and wine tasting. Some outdoor dining. Close to downtown and the beach.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobertH3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lark also viewed

 

Been to The Lark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing