We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Motel and Well Priced”
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Islander Motel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I am midway through a 10-day stay at the Islander while I help my daughter move in Santa Cruz. We are staying in a 2br room. The front room is a normal room with the bath entrance. The second bedroom is just that, a separate room with a king bed and a door.

Over the years my daughter has been attending UCSC, I have stayed in a number of hotels in Santa Cruz while visiting. The Islander will now be my "go to' location.

The motel is in excellent shape. The outside is nicely painted and is kept very clean. The rooms have been remodeled and are very comfortable and clean. Most appreciated is the double pane windows. Ocean Avenue is busy and can be noisy. With the windows closed, you hear negligible sound from outside.

The owners have been great. They are friendly and seem willing to make your stay enjoyable and hassle-free. This is a family run motel and the pride of ownership shows in the maintenance of the property and the diligence of the owners.

No qualms at all recommending this place for a stay in Santa Cruz. The location is very convenient and you can walk to the Boardwalk in about 10 minutes. It is also in one of the areas of town that is not overwhelmed by the homeless who seem ubiquitous in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

My husband and I and our 2 teenage daughters stayed here after leaving San Francisco on our drive down the California Coast. It was the perfect spot - so clean and spacious. We actually had 2 rooms and a newly renovated bathroom on the second floor of this motel, so the girls had a bed in one room and my hubby and I had the other room. The beds were very comfortable and the wifi was good as well but the next morning I couldn't connect so they cut your wifi off the morning you leave. This was the only hotel to do that so I thought that was kinda cheap. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfast is only toast and cereal but hey, it is better than nothing. It was one of the most inexpensive places we stayed on our trip so we were quite pleased with the value for our money! We took a short drive to check out the boardwalk and let our girls play a bit of volleyball on the beach before heading on down the coast. This was a great spot to stay for one night!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were really happy with this accommodation. Our room was a queen room - it was smaller then most other most else rooms but it was spotless and comfortable which is most important to me. The bathroom was a good size and also very clean with a good shower. We had a good nights sleep here.

There is a pool here and some sun loungers to relax on. This is great to come back to after a day out.

Parking onsite outside the rooms.

Wifi was very good.

There is tea/coffee/toast/cereal served in the reception area in the morning and although it's not a huge breakfast it was very welcome and enjoyable.

You can walk to the seafront from here in about 15 mins.

I'd recommend a great Mexican place to eat which is just a 5 min walk away from here - Taqueria Los Pericos.

Very clean, comfortable rooms and a good location. I'd be more than happy to stay here again.


Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Check in was easy, rooms were clean, service was good and the pool was loved by our kids. It's a great spot for exploring and not far from the beach/boardwalk. It's pretty basic but we had a great time and spent very little time in our room.
Santa Cruz is an amazing place and if you're into the Lost Boys you can check out all the filming locations. The comic shop is amazing and the guy will tell you all about the history of the store's feature in the film. He also gave us a handy map to find out locations!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ShellyDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Our room appeared to be recently remodeled with a brand new bathroom. It was very neat and clean and the couple who run it seemed really nice and helpful. There's a little pool off the parking lot which the kids enjoyed immensely. Our room had a fridge/freezer with a microwave which was very convenient.

The location is great. 5 minute car ride to the ocean/boardwalk. Whole Foods right around the corner. Super cute coffee shop across the street. Trader Joe's and CVS + all the downtown restaurants and stores are within easy walking distance.

My only complaint was the breakfast which was either cereal or white/wheat toast + coffee/milk/OJ. A few additions like fruit, muffins, bagels, instant oatmeal, etc. would have made for a more filling breakfast.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor (room 230) very close to the street above the office and I heard nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jene354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
516 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
265 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
209 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 522 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6602
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $89 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleans and Comfortable,2 story with 22 guest rooms that include, 32" flat Screen LCD-HD TV Withe Remote, complimentary continental breakfast, Free Local Calls, All rooms have phone, Free WiFi. High speed Internet access in Room hairdryers. All rooms with Micro fridges. Free parking, Seasonally heated pool and electronic door locks for your security. Located approximately 1 mile from the world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. We are within walking distance to Downtown Santa Cruz, numerous nightclubs, theaters and shopping at Pacific Garden Mall. Roaring camp, Mystery Spot, The University of California Santa Cruz, the Museum of Art and History and Pasatiempo Golf Course are all nearby. We look forward to making your stay with us the Best Value in Santa Cruz. Sorry No Pets.One car per Room.Parking is limited. Deposited Required. Extra Person $15.00 Per Person No Extra Beds or Crib,Payment will taken upon arrivel,. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing