We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Room, Small Beds, Broken Toilet, Check in at 4pm.”
Review of Beachview inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachview inn
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Although the location is great, we didn't enjoy our stay here. We stayed during the week in mid September and it was $88 which seemed liked good value until we got to our rooms (we had room 108) which smelt like stale kitty litter / piss. We got there very late so didn't ask to change as the hotel was full.

Take note that the bed is only a double, not queen, which was quite small for a couple. Our toilet tilted and nearly fell off the wall when we sat on it. The fridge also froze all our food.

Breakfast was passable with fruit, coffee, packaged pastry and cereal. Although the staff and location were good, we'd recommend finding elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

The hotel is careful not to show a picture of the outside. Its a nasty cheap hotel, with all kinds of not very nice people staying there. We were woken at 6.00 am by rock music blaring at full blast from the room on one side. When they had then stopped (as we banged on the wall) the man upstairs started screaming at his partner, saying his weed and wallet had been stolen from the car parked outside the room. This place did not feel safe. The rooms were tatty, bits of plaster chipped off the walls etc. The main bedroom didn't even have a wardrobe? For the amount of rooms, the breakfast area is tiny, totally inadequate. Would not stay here again in a million years.

Room Tip: Dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SusanBCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in motels ate whole trip. All cheap all good value.

It was friendly, clean and affordable exactly what we needed for 1 night on the road. Didn't stay for breakfast so I can't comment. The location is brilliant. Close to everything. I would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Real basic older style motel, which could do with some TLC.
Crappy cheap threadbare towels, marginally clean room, smallest cakes of soap known to man, stinky fridge in room 104. Really basic continental breakfast ( no toast or bread available) after 8am!!!!
In saying all the above, the people who work there are very friendly and you couldn't beat the location. There is a great little Mexican restaurant across the street and a good coffee shop right next door, so all in all it isn't a bad place to stay for a night, if you want a short walk to everything.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

It was so dirty and horrible hotel for $230 for night!! Everything is dirty and old. There was many hears at the floor and in the bathroom. Walls at bathroom have mold!! If you will get it in yours lungs, you will get very hard sick! Everything inside need rebuild!! You can see it on pics. Bed clothes and pillows are so dirty and old, pillows are yellow. Carpet has born spots from cigarettes. Never vacuums. This is the worst place at the world!!!!! But it has nice pics on booking.com. It's just pics. Ventilation is not working in bathroom. Water is not drain from tub and sink. This hotel room is not suitable for life! This hotel must be closed before fix all problems. WiFi is not working.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vladus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
102 reviews
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview inn

Address: 50 Front St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5421
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: S$103 - S$446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachview inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beachview inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Hotel Santa Cruz
Beach View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing