We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty area with such fun things to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Cruz Wharf

Santa Cruz Wharf
Ranked #4 of 82 things to do in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very pretty area with such fun things to do”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

There is not much to say about the Wharf and the Boardwalk, except DO NOT MISS this if you are in the area. The beach is nice, the amusement looked fun, but we didn't time to do any of that, but the Roller Coaster sure looked inviting. There are places to eat, shopes to browse in and maybe find something to buy, the pier is terrific and one can walk out on it or drive. My husband walked to the end the night we were in the area and then the next morning we drove out to the end and looked in some of the shops. I really wanted a sweat shirt with Santa Cruz on it, but I could not see departing with $30.00 or more for one. And, there are more beach volley balls courts than I could count. It appeared to be a weekend hang out area for all age groups and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves, even the police who was walking the Boardwalk. Be sure not to miss this area of town! We loved it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    351
    132
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Wharf”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We watched the firework show from the wharf. We ate several meals at the outdoor seafood market. The toasted crab sandwiches were very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank builderswife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sea lions galore”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Not much exciting to do on the wharf, couple restaurants and shops. Nice views of the water and plenty of sea lions hang out and they have special viewing areas. Also sighted dolphins too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mtnlvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“like a free aquarium”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Seal/sea-lions/elephant seals everywhere - hard to miss them up towards the end of the pier and you can't fail to hear them. Pelicans sitting around too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
845 reviews
412 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Sea lions, fishermen, gulls, oh my!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My sister lives in Santa Cruz, and every time we visit her we end up getting pulled out to the wharf as if it were a magnet. Our favorite place to eat in the city, Firefish Grill, is out there, and the sea lions barking from somewhere underneath our feet adds to the atmosphere.

There is parking for a modest fee right on the wharf, and we usually don't have any trouble finding a spot. Do be aware that, like any ocean wharf on the west coast, there are lots of gulls who eat lots of fish and then unload lots of you-know-what onto everyuthing in sight. That is also part of the atmosphere (literally).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Cruz Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Santa Cruz Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing