We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Christmas vacation ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A pleasant surprise in Santa Cruz CA. Rooms were nice, bed comfy, staff well knowledgeable and a nice restaurant. Looks can be deceiving, as it looks a bit sketchy from the street side. The interior is completely gated and you feel safe and secure once in. It's very metro modern and we throughly enjoyed our short stay

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DragoncloudHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear DragoncloudHolly,

Thanks for you visit and review. We're glad to you found the rooms nice and beds comfy and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016

We needed to spend a couple nights in Santa Cruz to visit relatives that were in town. I did not know this hotel and we were totally pleased by the entire stay. The rooms were very nice and the restaurant and bar were great. This is one of the Autograph hotels and it is a remodeled older property that they did a fabulous job on. The doors from the rooms exit on to the balcony and that is sort of old school and never done on a Marriott. It works here as you are into the redwoods and the scene.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert95765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Nice room, good food and local beers and good wine selection at the bar. The staff was very welcoming and fast at checkin. The room is clean and nicely appointed. The food in the restaurant was delicious, the Clam Chowder especially.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scheiny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Great location, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Front desk employees were quite welcoming and helpful. Beautiful pool area. Would definitely stay here again, especially after seeing some of the older, seemingly run down properties nearby. This place is a gem! Also, plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, etc near by.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor and got one. 5th floor on the backside of the hotel, not a lot to see fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acantwell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

"Expect the unexpected," the hotel description claimed. With stunning images of modern-rustic elements accentuating the areas natural elements, like the famed redwoods, and close up shots of a cozy fireplace with unique architectural accents, I was certain Hotel Paradox would be the perfect midweek getaway.

Alas, as a motel converted to a hip spot worthy of belonging to Marriott's Autograph Collection, the actual structure of the building combined with the Paradox's operational decision to usurp the bulk of any common areas (like a lounge & the lobby) for revenue generating meeting space likely works well in attracting business groups, but as a leisure traveler during this stay, I felt disappointed and claustrophobic.

If you're looking for a spot to lay your head and not indeed looking for a more encompassing hotel experience, Paradox's rooms are fine. Noise level will be the luck of the draw pending if your room is poolside or not, but as a motel style hotel, exterior hallways can carry significant white-noise from traffic. While there's plenty of seating in the restaurant I found the open aired design combined with the large group in house that monopolized that space this particular trip meant apart from my room there wasn't anyplace else on property to work / enjoy.

Definitely more polished than lipstick on a pig, but not quite in line with the caliber of other autograph collection properties, or whatever with how grand the hotel's photos made Paradox appear.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaime K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Jaime K,

Thank you for your review of your visit in September. I'm glad to hear you thought the rooms were fine, but concerned you felt claustrophobic at the property. On occasion, we may have large business groups with us that actively use much of the indoor space and expansive outdoor poolside and deck seating. I am sorry you felt disappointed. Feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance to you...david.curell@hotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.7 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,928 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
101 reviews
6.6 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
558 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $232 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL PARADOX A Modern Alternative to the Traditional Santa Cruz Hotel Look beyond your first instict of Santa Cruz and you will find things hidden in plain sight: Rugged mountains, majestic redwoods, vibrant communities, and much more. This is where Hotel Paradox lives. It strikes the perfect balance between nature and urban design without excessive fuss. A Paradox is meant for discussion and questioning the obvious. This Autograph Collection Hotel will challenge you with bold contradictions. The engaging staff invite you to enjoy an experience where the ambiance is contemporary, inviting and a little bit mysterious. Hotel Paradox...Expect the Unexpected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing