We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend retreat spot !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I stumbled upon this property while searching for a convenient location for an overnight in Santa Cruz. Though there are many choices of lodging, Marriott's "autograph selection" label caught my eye so I booked it. Was I glad about my decision. I arrived in the hotel to find a building that was clearly remodeled from what might have been an apartment building but the transformation was done quite tastefully and in a very modern style that I was pleasantly surprised to find such a property in Santa Cruz. The room decor was very inviting, functional and comfortable. The bathroom size was a bit small yet so well designed that any misgivings were quickly forgotten. And the mattresses were one of the most comfortable pillow tops I have ever slept in. We sampled the restaurant thru breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the taste and impressed with the service. The pool/jacuzzi area was well set up and would have been the place to hang out for a long time had we had more time in the hotel. Overall, we found this property to have the character and design elements that an Autograph brand location should

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A pleasant surprise in Santa Cruz CA. Rooms were nice, bed comfy, staff well knowledgeable and a nice restaurant. Looks can be deceiving, as it looks a bit sketchy from the street side. The interior is completely gated and you feel safe and secure once in. It's very metro modern and we throughly enjoyed our short stay

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DragoncloudHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear DragoncloudHolly,

Thanks for you visit and review. We're glad to you found the rooms nice and beds comfy and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We needed to spend a couple nights in Santa Cruz to visit relatives that were in town. I did not know this hotel and we were totally pleased by the entire stay. The rooms were very nice and the restaurant and bar were great. This is one of the Autograph hotels and it is a remodeled older property that they did a fabulous job on. The doors from the rooms exit on to the balcony and that is sort of old school and never done on a Marriott. It works here as you are into the redwoods and the scene.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert95765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Nice room, good food and local beers and good wine selection at the bar. The staff was very welcoming and fast at checkin. The room is clean and nicely appointed. The food in the restaurant was delicious, the Clam Chowder especially.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scheiny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Great location, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Front desk employees were quite welcoming and helpful. Beautiful pool area. Would definitely stay here again, especially after seeing some of the older, seemingly run down properties nearby. This place is a gem! Also, plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, etc near by.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor and got one. 5th floor on the backside of the hotel, not a lot to see fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acantwell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.7 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,852 reviews
6.6 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.8 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
67 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $225 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is a boutique hotel in Santa Cruz, California that has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience near the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing