We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$130
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$249
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$181
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Babbling Brook Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaway Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
302
212
84
35
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
212
84
35
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areafree shuttlefire pithot tubshuttle servicebarn doorholiday inncool hotelwalking distance to downtownhomeless peoplenice poolparking lotocean streetup to daterooms are smallking bedmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A pleasant surprise in Santa Cruz CA. Rooms were nice, bed comfy, staff well knowledgeable and a nice restaurant. Looks can be deceiving, as it looks a bit sketchy from the street side. The interior is completely gated and you feel safe and secure once in. It's very metro modern and we throughly enjoyed our short stay

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DragoncloudHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear DragoncloudHolly,

Thanks for you visit and review. We're glad to you found the rooms nice and beds comfy and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We needed to spend a couple nights in Santa Cruz to visit relatives that were in town. I did not know this hotel and we were totally pleased by the entire stay. The rooms were very nice and the restaurant and bar were great. This is one of the Autograph hotels and it is a remodeled older property that they did a fabulous job on. The doors from the rooms exit on to the balcony and that is sort of old school and never done on a Marriott. It works here as you are into the redwoods and the scene.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert95765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Nice room, good food and local beers and good wine selection at the bar. The staff was very welcoming and fast at checkin. The room is clean and nicely appointed. The food in the restaurant was delicious, the Clam Chowder especially.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scheiny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Great location, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Front desk employees were quite welcoming and helpful. Beautiful pool area. Would definitely stay here again, especially after seeing some of the older, seemingly run down properties nearby. This place is a gem! Also, plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, etc near by.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor and got one. 5th floor on the backside of the hotel, not a lot to see from the location, but still pretty cool.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acantwell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

"Expect the unexpected," the hotel description claimed. With stunning images of modern-rustic elements accentuating the areas natural elements, like the famed redwoods, and close up shots of a cozy fireplace with unique architectural accents, I was certain Hotel Paradox would be the perfect midweek getaway.

Alas, as a motel converted to a hip spot worthy of belonging to Marriott's Autograph Collection, the actual structure of the building combined with the Paradox's operational decision to usurp the bulk of any common areas (like a lounge & the lobby) for revenue generating meeting space likely works well in attracting business groups, but as a leisure traveler during this stay, I felt disappointed and claustrophobic.

If you're looking for a spot to lay your head and not indeed looking for a more encompassing hotel experience, Paradox's rooms are fine. Noise level will be the luck of the draw pending if your room is poolside or not, but as a motel style hotel, exterior hallways can carry significant white-noise from traffic. While there's plenty of seating in the restaurant I found the open aired design combined with the large group in house that monopolized that space this particular trip meant apart from my room there wasn't anyplace else on property to work / enjoy.

Definitely more polished than lipstick on a pig, but not quite in line with the caliber of other autograph collection properties, or whatever with how grand the hotel's photos made Paradox appear.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaime K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Jaime K,

Thank you for your review of your visit in September. I'm glad to hear you thought the rooms were fine, but concerned you felt claustrophobic at the property. On occasion, we may have large business groups with us that actively use much of the indoor space and expansive outdoor poolside and deck seating. I am sorry you felt disappointed. Feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance to you...david.curell@hotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews