We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Front Inn(Santa Cruz)
US$234
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Babbling Brook Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Breeze Inn(Santa Cruz)
US$153
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
309
215
85
35
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
215
85
35
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areafree shuttlefire pithot tubshuttle servicebarn doorholiday inncool hotelwalking distance to downtownhomeless peoplenice poolup to dateocean streetrooms are smallking roommini fridgethe santa cruz area
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel quite by luck! It was a trendy, hip spot with a modern themed decor: barnwood, fire pits, farm-to-table restaurant, and an amazing staff happy to meet you and make your stay just right! We will be back soon!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We went to the Hotel Paradox over 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. We got a pretty good deal on Priceline ($159 night). The hotel bills itself as a "hip" hotel. It does have cool/quirky furnishings and is a very nice environment. I would say it's "Oasis-like".

Pros: nice environment, very nice staff, comfortable rooms
Free beach cruiser bike rentals for 2 hours
Very nice gym facility
Pet friendly
Free Illy coffee pods.

Cons: next to a homeless park and downtown where there are homeless people everywhere
You can hear EVERYTHING through the walls.
Some rooms have mini fridge "coolers" instead of an actual fridge
The pool hours are until 10pm...however, it was full of kids until then and if you just wanted to swim, it was impossible as they occupied the entire pool playing a water polo game. They should have "adult hours" past 7pm. The kids had the pool all day...
If you get the "Priceline" deal, you will end up on the backside of the hotel which faces the parking lot and "Doctors on Call". You will hear sirens the entire night. Bummer.
Self-parking cost $10 per day.
Pet friendly....could be a problem if you have allergies as the animals sit everywhere. There was a cat next door to us that
meowed when its owners left him in the room alone all day and night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kristinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed here after a few days in Yosemite to relax before our return. We were beat and ready to relax. We went to the pool for beers the day after check in and the service was terrible, staff was nice, but a big disconnect and how long it took to get food and drink. After speaking to the front desk, I said we would go to a store and get our own drinks and instead of an apology or offering to take us to the store they just directed us to the store. So frustrating.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Joe M,

Thanks for your recent visit and review. I'm happy to hear that you felt the staff were nice but their service neither met your nor our expectations. I would be grateful to be able to speak with you about this and can be contacted @ david.curell@hotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I'm a chef originally from Miami now living in Manhattan. We came to santa Cruz to skate and bike with a ring of "industry" friends. We started the stay with bar and snacks at pool. Server "Jordan" was a good kid and spoke highly of the new chef and the menus. Was nice to see some excitement in a young guy. He asked the chef to make us Nachos and we received an amazing platter of flat iron carne asada nachos that had us all ready for dinner later that night. We ordered the Halibut, NY steak, Salmon and every salad on the menu and the poke. We felt as if we were cooking for each other. It was perfect. Unpretentious but refined. Good skill and flavor. I have to be honest..... Not what I was expecting for a Marriott or Santa Cruz. Toques off! Hotel was hipster but not too yuppy. Good balance. Rooms small but mostly spotless. Bartenders good. Service overall an 8.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank NYCguruChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We had three wonderful nights at Hotel Paradox.
The staff was attentive, helpful and overall spectacular.
Mark the GM and Dan the bartender were great. Also three fabulous servers Carlie, Kay and Zinnia.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 395mink8907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews