We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Hotel is refurbished with very nice bathrooms. Pool area is very comfortable and pool good size. They have bikes to ride to boardwalk and beach. Very nicely situated for everything want to do in the area, about an hr to Monterey, Cliff Drive and Wilder Ranch minutes away, Capitola short drive. The area is very bohemian. I would recommend if looking for Hotel in Santa Cruz. Has free shuttle to the beach.

Room Tip: Think even numbers face pool which is far nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel quite by luck! It was a trendy, hip spot with a modern themed decor: barnwood, fire pits, farm-to-table restaurant, and an amazing staff happy to meet you and make your stay just right! We will be back soon!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We went to the Hotel Paradox over 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. We got a pretty good deal on Priceline ($159 night). The hotel bills itself as a "hip" hotel. It does have cool/quirky furnishings and is a very nice environment. I would say it's "Oasis-like".

Pros: nice environment, very nice staff, comfortable rooms
Free beach cruiser bike rentals for 2 hours
Very nice gym facility
Pet friendly
Free Illy coffee pods.

Cons: next to a homeless park and downtown where there are homeless people everywhere
You can hear EVERYTHING through the walls.
Some rooms have mini fridge "coolers" instead of an actual fridge
The pool hours are until 10pm...however, it was full of kids until then and if you just wanted to swim, it was impossible as they occupied the entire pool playing a water polo game. They should have "adult hours" past 7pm. The kids had the pool all day...
If you get the "Priceline" deal, you will end up on the backside of the hotel which faces the parking lot and "Doctors on Call". You will hear sirens the entire night. Bummer.
Self-parking cost $10 per day.
Pet friendly....could be a problem if you have allergies as the animals sit everywhere. There was a cat next door to us that
meowed when its owners left him in the room alone all day and night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kristinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed here after a few days in Yosemite to relax before our return. We were beat and ready to relax. We went to the pool for beers the day after check in and the service was terrible, staff was nice, but a big disconnect and how long it took to get food and drink. After speaking to the front desk, I said we would go to a store and get our own drinks and instead of an apology or offering to take us to the store they just directed us to the store. So frustrating.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Joe M,

Thanks for your recent visit and review. I'm happy to hear that you felt the staff were nice but their service neither met your nor our expectations. I would be grateful to be able to speak with you about this and can be contacted @ david.curell@hotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I'm a chef originally from Miami now living in Manhattan. We came to santa Cruz to skate and bike with a ring of "industry" friends. We started the stay with bar and snacks at pool. Server "Jordan" was a good kid and spoke highly of the new chef and the menus. Was nice to see some excitement in a young guy. He asked the chef to make us Nachos and we received an amazing platter of flat iron carne asada nachos that had us all ready for dinner later that night. We ordered the Halibut, NY steak, Salmon and every salad on the menu and the poke. We felt as if we were cooking for each other. It was perfect. Unpretentious but refined. Good skill and flavor. I have to be honest..... Not what I was expecting for a Marriott or Santa Cruz. Toques off! Hotel was hipster but not too yuppy. Good balance. Rooms small but mostly spotless. Bartenders good. Service overall an 8.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank NYCguruChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.7 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,857 reviews
6.6 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.8 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
68 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $225 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is a boutique hotel in Santa Cruz, California that has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience near the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing