We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$210
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$153
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Babbling Brook Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$223
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Front Inn(Santa Cruz)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aqua Breeze Inn(Santa Cruz)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$208
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$455
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
13
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Hinds house is a nice Victorian house just a few blocks from the Pacific Garden Mall and the Boardwalk. Rooms #1 and #2 are the only rooms with a private bath. It is an interesting experience there, it depends heavily on the other guests staying. The kitchen is well stocked with the basic pots and pans, coffee is provided, storage for your groceries is ample, in cupboards and fridge. This is not a hotel. Laundry is provided, as is the detergent. So if you need your bedding changed, you will need to wash it. If you need your room cleaned, there are supplies and vacuums available. It is a weekly rental, and we just finished a 1 month stay. We would stay again. The common areas of the house are very nice, a great chance to stay in a well maintained Victorian house near downtown Santa Cruz. A parking permit is also provided while you stay which is a nice bonus, there are only 3 parking spots off street at the property.

Room Tip: There is a train that comes by 2x a day during the summer weekdays, and 4x on weekends, it is not an issue, but it can bee a little strange seeing a train on a city street. Room #2 is the largest room with a private bath, but room #1 has a small terrace opening to the front of the house through the private bathroom there. Rooms on the 3rd floor are smaller and there is more noise. Private baths have a clawfoot tub, and a shower attachment. The water is also good and hot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a wonderful inn, very close to the main street of the town. The setup is well thought out, self-catered, long term occupancy rental/short term stay inn, and the rooms are really wonderful. we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I spent 2 weeks at Hinds House and the stay was the most delightful I have ever had while travelling! The amenities are amazing. You have allocated cupboards and fridge space so that you can cook your own meals, which is great for those of use who have specific dietary needs that eating out cannot accommodate. Washer/Dryer available that is included, super clean house and rooms. The bed was very comfortable and fresh, and more than enough space to put all of my clothing and personal items. The location is unbeatable. You are a 3 minute walk to downtown and all of the shops, restaurants, groceries and transit. Only a 15 minute walk to the beach, Wharf and Boardwalk. Plus it's a beautiful home and city! Safe, friendly and full of amazingly unique shops for vintage lovers and modern store lovers combined. Oh and free wifi! Thank you to Hinds house for the amazingly, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There are two levels above the main floor with rooms, so if you are not a fan of lugging up items two flights I'd recommend staying on the second floor for ease of access. The top floor room with the skylight is lovely, though there is a gap between the screen at the window edge which if you are weary of creepy crawlies might not be the best room for ease of sleeping, though I had no problems.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karli073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

stayed here for one week trip to santa Cruz. It's like going back in time with all the modern comforts...good wifi, hot water, great water pressure and really affordable weekly rates. There are two remarkable things about this place: the location and the people. You are right downtown and can walk to everything. The people here were fantastic. We made friends I know we will keep in touch with. Thanks Hinds House! Wish there were places like this in every town.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private bathrooms. Ours had a bathroom across the hall...very clean.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were put out of our house for a week while having new floors installed in our home. Looked into local hotels but decided on the Hinds House for their great weekly rates, full kitchen and their downtown location. We don't live in the city center so being able to walk to everything was a welcome change. Our room was beautiful and comfortable and the kitchen and laundry meant we didn't have to eat out or go to a Laundromat. The place is spotless. The management here cares about this historic place and they keep it up so beautifully. The place is way cleaner than my house. We had one of the more affordable rooms with a bathroom across the hall. The maids cleaned the bathroom every day Again, cleaner then mine at home. The Hinds House is our new spot when out of town relative come to stay. Great place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PacificAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews