We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best value in Santa Cruz; great hotel”
Review of National 9 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
National 9 Motel
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 9 April 2016

My family and I stayed a week here. We chose National 9 for the exceptional rates (best in the city) but ended up finding sparkling, clean, nice-smelling rooms, an extremely friendly staff, and an atmosphere that truly felt like home away from home. Management did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and relaxing, and housekeeping did a superb job cleaning up after our two kids (ages 3 and 4). Coffee was always hot and delicious, and the complimentary danishes were enjoyed by all. Fast internet, top of the line A/C, soft beds with clean blankets, and front desk will be quick and friendly with whatever help you need. For great value, nice location and a pleasant stay with staff that genuinely care, give this place a look! We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

5 - 9 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Weary after 4days straight of commercial crabbing, even at midnight Vic the owner was very nice! The room was much more than I expected. Clean, good size tv with cable and HBO, wifi works great, and they had a nice little breakfast claw assortment next to the coffee and orange juice in the office when I woke up . Talking to Kim (co-owner)this morning was nice as well. During our conversation over coffee, I heard about a guy who was smoking pot in the room and then misplaced some money, in which the amount continued to change from 3 to 5 to 7 hundred dollars. They (the owners) went as far as letting the guy search the premise, the maid, and even the maid's car!!! I wouldn't have let it go that far, I would have had him leave way before that. The maid Is now on their 11th year of service to the owners. I just wanted to mention that because one bad apple (rotten really) shouldn't affect someone's hotel selection. I felt super safe and comfortable here and losing a possession was the least of my worries. Victor and Kim take a lot of pride in their hotel and it shows. And at a little over half the cost of a beach motel, i was still an 8 minute drive to the boardwalk in heavy morning traffic. 4 stars! I look forward to another affordable night stay.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Santa Cruz hotel prices vary quite a bit of the same hotels depending on what was going on the weekend and are also seasonal. The weekend of our stay went sky high from the usual $100 to $229. This was also the most inexpensive place we could find in the area for the same day booking.

The motel was very basic and slightly tired furnishings but was clean with fast internet. The air conditioner worked in wonders and definitely kept the room chilled. There was an ice machine downstairs. There was only 1 soap in terms of amenities so it definitely required a trip to the convenience store to pick up shampoo and body lotion, etc. The sink was outside the bathroom.

There's also a small pool outside.

The place was a bit far from the beach but okay if you drive. There were just enough parking spots in the lot and were tight. We got the very last one.

There was packaged pastries and basic brewed coffee and OJ in the morning if you need something before going out.

The owners were friendly, and the check-in and check-out were fast.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TaminatorSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited Santa Cruz on a busy weekend with our 5 grandchildren. Every hotel we tried was booked. We finally visited the small (vintage looking) hotel called National 9. We normally would not have used this hotel but are glad we did. The rooms were clean and fresh smelling. The pool was just right for the kids. It was quiet and the owners could not have been nicer and anymore accommodating than they were. We were highly satisfied with our stay and can recommend this friendly little hotel.

Room Tip: We needed adjoining rooms and was accommodated. The rooms also had nice, large high definition flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Bedding was old & dirty, lucky for me I had brought blanket from home;very noise did not get Goodnight sleep, outside was terrible; breakfast was terrible; TV was old not good reception. Never will I stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Olga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.9 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
215 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Motel

Address: 130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2932
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $108 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your National 9 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing