We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$358
US$319
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
US$199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Georgian Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$377
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$586
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$316
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge by Wyndham Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$399
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
109
214
96
34
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
214
96
34
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenliving roomheated poolstreet promenadepink tilewhole foodsapartment complexmelrose placegarbage truckstwo blockslarge bedroomper daylaundry facilitiesseen better daysan older hotelgreat poollocation is fantastic
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The hotel location is excellent, very close to the beach and very close to Santa Monica City Centre. You are literally 10 minutes away from the beach and from the city pedestrian street. The one bedroom suite we were in was big, had a separate kitchen and was very clean. It had a balcony to a quiet street where you could relax. The hotel has a small relaxing area on its center with a small pool, not really suitable for small children, but a nice place to relax after a day out. Although pool hours end at 9 PM, we got some loud crowds till mid night. Parking is available on the premises at USD 33 a day, much more expensive than the surrounding parking lots, and there is no surveillance, you park on a space on the ground floor of the hotel but the car is available from the street. The hotel does not provide free Wi-Fi, but offers a third party service for 10 USD a day per device, which I did not try.

There are a ridiculous amount of stairs to get to the first floor, we opted to keep our stroller inside the car not to carry it up every time we came back. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything the neighbor does, if you get the annoying loud guy as we got, you will not be able to sleep. This guy also brought outside guests, which made us a little worried about security. The “door slamming” was another thing that prevented us from sleeping well, you will know when the guests come and go. Although smoking is not permitted inside the suites, it is alloyed everywhere else, and people do smoke everywhere else including the balcony right beside you.

Summarizing, the hotel is well located, the suites are big and well equipped but you will not get good night sleep is the place is crowded.

Room Tip: Only go if you get a room on the first floor to the street, not to the back street or the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tyzon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrus N, Revenue Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Good morning, thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay. We so much appreciate the fact that you mentioned our ideal location and the cleanliness of our rooms. We apologize for any inconsistencies you may have encountered during your visit. Our night staff checks the property frequently and again we are sorry for your noisy neighbor. Hopefully you will return in the future and experience a great night's sleep. Many thanks again for posting your feedback on your recent stay. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I just stayed 3 nights at the Cal Mar. My room (206) backed up to an alley. All three nights the alley was crazy noisy; everything from people having loud sex in the apartments across the ally to people picking through the dumpsters ALL night, every night. And since there is no air con closing the single pane, warped windows isn't an option. I suppose if you have a desire to stay at a old motel totally lacking in charm with bad water pressure then ask for a room that is NOT on the alley. The bad room and plain jane accommodations aside, it is conveniently located a few blocks from the beach; the staff is very friendly and the house keepers and grounds keepers do an excellent job keeping things clean and tidy.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank TravelingFamilyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrus N, Revenue Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize that you had trouble sleeping during your recent visit. We will be updating our windows in the near future which should assist in our guests' being able to have a good night's rest. Thank you for validating our location as well as our staff in maintaining the Cal Mar. Again, our sincere apologies and we hope we have an opportunity to serve you at a future date. Your comments are being shared with our Management team in order to facilitate the changes you mentioned. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This property is located near the top of the "California incline" leading up from Santa Monica Beach & Pier, a couple blocks back from Ocean Avenue. Even better it is only one block from the 3rd Street Promenade, with its mtople restaurants & shopping areas. Our room was large with separate sitting/dinning area, along with a supplied fu kitchen. Only reason not Excellent rating is vending machine out of order & old style door keys were a little difficult to use sometimes

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrus N, Revenue Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Greetings from the Cal Mar Hotel. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying in Santa Monica. We are delighted that you valued our location as being close to all of the events and places of interest in our exciting destination. Thank you for mentioning our large suites with all the amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We appreciate your comments so very much and apologize for any inconsistencies you observed during your visit. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

My brothers and I stayed here when down to manage my fathers affairs. Great large rooms, full kitchen dining area and the pool was great. Even in feb. great place for families. Staff were easy going. And very friendly. Two blocks to pacific palisades park and a 10 min walk to the beach or the pier. 2 min to the promenade. Location / location / location.
Stayed again in April when we had to come back. Equally as pleasant.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Todco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrus N, Revenue Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for posting your recent experience during your time in Santa Monica. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to host you again in the near future.

All the best,


Susan Somers Skou
Revenue Manager
Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here three times over the last 25 years. Not sure much has changed in terms of the physical rooms. The beds are good. The kitchen (full apartment size) is available which is unexpected. Bathrooms are very small. No air conditioning so need to keep windows open. So you will hear lots of outside noise and people walking upstairs. And people coming in late and loud. The decor is from the 50s. You will pay extra for WiFi and parking which is the biggest downside in my opinion. The greatest plus is the super convenient location and a safe feeling about the location. If you are a flexible person this will work.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CynK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrus N, Revenue Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Greetings from the Cal Mar Hotel. We are delighted that you have stayed with us over the years and look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for mentioning the value of our location and also the safety you feel while at our property. We value our guests' feedback and strive to raise the bar in guest satisfaction. Again, we appreciate your comments. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews