We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool area”
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Hard to judge this accurately since we were there the night the fires broke out. We left in the middle of the night before the evacuation. Which came kinda late from what I understand. But the hotel itself is nice. Rooms modern. Pool area nice. But bar that was there wasn't open. Only 1 ice machine. Would consider staying there again when the area rebuilds.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hello Robert,
I am very sorry to hear you experienced our evacuation from the wildfires. We began our evacuation as soon as we were notified. We were very fortunate to sustain any damage during this tragic event. Santa Rosa and the Wine Country is open for business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sandman!
Thank you,
Lauren Bodsworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

We had a room block here for our wedding guests. Lauren, the general manager, was amazing! She was very responsive over email, made sure the rooms were close together and that all of our welcome bags were delivered. The staff was very responsive to our requests, like bringing in extra chairs for hair and make up. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very comfortable. It was convenient to have a larger mini fridge as well to store drinks.
We hosted our wedding rehearsal dinner in the pool house. The less formal environment was perfect because it gave guests a chance to wander around and mingle with each other. The bar minimum to use the pool house is reasonable.They let us cater in food because they have a limited kitchen. Lauren was personally there to make sure that everything went smoothly. It was clear she and the rest of the staff wanted to make sure everything was running smoothly.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Sandman and are looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, General Manager at Sandman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi Amy & Rob,
Thank you for choosing the Sandman for your wedding celebration. It was a pleasure hosting your group in the Pool Bar for your rehearsal dinner. I am glad you also found the rooms comfortable and the staff accommodating. Congrats on your recent wedding nuptials from the Sandman Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Thank you,
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Quiet, clean, friendly staff. Room was a nice size, comfortable. Had a problem with my door one morning and someone was there to fix it in 10 minutes. The dining area was small but adequate for my visit; limited items, but there is a restaurant next door.
Traveling alone, I felt safe on this property. I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Quilter46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

recently renovated & nicely updated rooms incl. comfortable beds and new room furniture + large fridge & LCD TV. Large heated pool with jacuzzi and tastefully decorated pool bar. Rooms and grounds are very clean. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: rooms in the back are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steffen_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Room was clean. Lobby staff was friendly. Bed was comfortable. Price was high but figured that was because of the festival in Guernville.
Easy access to the Freeway so I could get to the Jazz and Blues festival easily.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank ldgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
6 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
716 reviews
4.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
4.2 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
601 reviews
6.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
2.3 km away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $189 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing