We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Dog Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Dog Friendly”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I and our Golden Retreiver stayed here New Year's Eve rather than a more expensive motel at Bodega Bay. The pleasant drive to the beach takes about 20 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful, well kept grounds and large rooms. Since we brought our dog, we had a pet friendly room, which was nice because it didn't smell like pets and flea free. We reserved the room through Hotel.com; however, the savings was less than $5. So the next time we stay here we'll call the motel directly to make reservations. With the AAA discount, the room rate was resonably priced at $85. They provide a large HD television with cable, free WiFi access and a small refrigerator and microwave oven. The onsite restaurant is open for breakfast, which was just OK. If you want a hearty breakfast, go elsewhere. There's also a laundry facility on site.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    159
    104
    51
    25
See reviews for
161
167
19
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I just spent Christmas Eve at the Best Western Wine and Country Inn. I just want to say thank you for such a comfortable nights stay at such an amazing rate. My girlfriend and I travel allot and this was our first time staying at this hotel. I must say we were impressed by the cheerful staff even though they were working on the holidays. That as well as the beautiful rooms comfortable beds and balconies with walls high enough to provide privacy yet still a beautiful view. Finally there breakfast was probably one of the top I have had for a continental breakfast including my favorite biscuits and gravy. I do not work here I promise but I cannot speak highly enough for this wonderful stay. I cannot wait till I return to the wine valley and get a chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaysen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I spent a 3 day weekend in Sonoma wine country in early September. We stayed at the Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) on Hopper Avenue in Santa Rosa. This has good access to nearby Route 101 without being directly on the highway. It is located north of downtown Santa Rosa making it a great location to explore the Russian River, Dry Creek and Alexander Valley wineries. The Best Western room was comfortable and what you would expect for a chain motel. It does offer a free breakfast off the lobby which included breads, cereal and hot eggs,bacon and waffles. There is an outdoor pool for the warmer weather. The property is surrounded by other development with parking in the rear and the front. I would recommend it if you are looking a mid range places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We booked the Travelzoo $79 package, which seemed to be a great deal. The breakfast was good and check-in was easy. However, I swear that the Travelzoo ad mentioned a jacuzzi spa and there wasn't one on the property. Also, the pool wasn't open the hours that the front desk person said it was. Sunday after an early breakfast, we went back to our room changes for a swim, only to find the pool still closed until 10am. Our balcony overlooked a garbage dumpster, not nice to look at or smell. Worst of all, our room smelled like smoke and when we called the front desk to request a switch, were told that we couldn't switch and so we had to open doors and windows on a cool November evening to try to air the room out .Can't say I would recommend this and I am not a picky traveler in general.

Room Tip: Make extra extra sure they book you into a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
I would like to thank deedumans for their review of our hotel. The promotion we ran last month was an outstanding deal, and I'm pleased you were able to take advantage of it. There were a couple different options for that particular promotion, one featuring our two room jacuzzi suites, and one featuring our standard rooms. The promotion you chose was for the standard room. I am sorry that our heated pool was not unlocked, that was an oversight on our part, and I will bring this to the attention of our staff so this error is not repeated.
Thank you again, and I hope you come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife and I picked this motel primarily because it was dog friendly, and we found we made a good choice.

The motel is near the freeway, but away from the noise. We had a 'suite" - two adjoining rooms, one that had a sofa bed, fridge,microwave and jacuzzi tub - which had been recently remodeled. Although the work was not excellent, we could tell that the rooms had been redone and painted. The rooms were clean, the bath towels good, as were the little soaps, lotions, etc. We were upstairs and had two balconies, one in each room.

There are several fast food places, an Applebees and a gas station across the street, and other amenities nearby. We found the breakfast room to be large and clean; along with the usual pastries etc. they also served eggs and bacon. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We do not expect full service hotel excellence at places like this, but we were perfectly happy and pleasantly surprised with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1montereyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
6.5 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
673 reviews
0.8 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
5.0 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,016 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites
Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price range (per night): $209 - $467
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing