We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavallo Point
Nearby Hotels
The Gables Inn Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa(Sausalito)
US$345
US$336
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HI Marin Headlands Hostel(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
US$71
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
US$304
US$199
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
693
227
74
39
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
227
74
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray circlefarley barthe golden gate bridgefort bakerhistoric roomsmeditation poolmilitary basegolf cartfront porchcooking schoolrocking chairsking suitesan franciscoparade groundofficers quartersdiscovery museumcooking class
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The overall quality of the hotel is stunning. The spa and gym facility are amazing. Breathtaking views of the San Fransisco Bay area. The staff at this hotel are exeptional. Wonderful trails along the hotel and tremendously easy to go in and out of San Francisco and Sausalito.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elijah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Elijah,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities, the views and received outstanding service. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Stayed here for a Board meeting and the church made a very good meeting room. I had one of the refurbished "barracks" which was a one-bedroom suite that was tastefully decorated and modern amenities including Wifi. Food was good, nothing special, but their bath products were divine!!! Worth taking some home or ordering online. Great place to get away and not far from downtown SF with a view of the Golden Gate bridge.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view take something near the church
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trini-trekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the quality of our amenities as well as the conference room where you had the Board meeting and the views. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

If you ever wondered what Mark Twain meant when he wrote that "the coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco", then you need to visit here. While temperatures passed 90 degrees in the rest of the Bay Area, this anchor to the Golden Gate bridge barely touched 60 degrees. I was woefully underpacked for our family retreat here and had to seek warmth from a gaudy "I Love SF" sweatshirt that I bought from the gift shop. I understand those sweatshirts are big sellers in the summer.

The hotel is a campus made up of the old military quarters for Fort Baker. It is situated almost directly under the north stanchion of the Golden Gate bridge. Which means that it enjoys the cold breeze that comes around the Marin headlands as well as the fog.

Each of the old dormitory/homes have been subdivided into 4 to six en-suite residences. Some suites feature connected rooms that share a common living room. Each room is large and they have been nicely updated, with modern showers and a desk with electrical plugs and wifi The designers tried to keep as many of the original wooden Victorian details as they could. So, for example, most rooms are at the top of wooden staircases. Tellingly, there is no HVAC, but my room featured the original fireplace, a small pot bellied stove, as well as heating radiators under the windows.

The buildings are laid out around a gigantic U shaped driveway. There is a large lawn---perhaps parade ground---in the middle. The Children's Discovery Museum and the waters of the Bay are at the other end. The view is stunning day or night. Unless there is fog. It's the first time in my life where I was awoken by fog horns.

The reception, meeting rooms, spa, and restaurant are all in different buildings. And there is a mix of street and lot parking as well as a valet service. I had to walk outside a bit, which required the extra clothing. The breakfast was solid, and the other meals highlighted seasonal nouveau California cuisine.

It's a wonderful cool getaway from stifling hot summers.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have a lot of luggage
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear James,

So glad you enjoyed the food, the historic room and the charm of this unique place. Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Cavallo Point near San Francisco. Warm and friendly staff - particularly Frederick in the restaurant - and some wonderful views of the bay and Golden Gate Bridge.

You are a little way out of San Francisco, so if you want to visit the City each day you will need to work around the free shuttle times of 9am drop off and 4pm pick up - or organise a taxi / Uber - takes around 30 mins to get into the heart of City, if leaving at peak times.

Sausalito is a very nice and smaller town and easier to get to being only 10 mins away - and there are more frequent free shuttles to this location.

Overall, a very nice hotel and would recommend staying here if you are looking for some "chill out time" from travelling around California; would suggest a City Centre hotel though if you plan to spend most of your time in San Fran itself.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We offer indeed complimentary daily transportation to the city, the reason why it can take up to 30 minutes it's not the distance itself but the considerable amount of traffic, which is as a matter of fact one of the reasons why most of our guests choose this location as opposed to the city. Another way to visit the city is to take our frequent complimentary rides to downtown Sausalito and enjoy a wonderful ferry ride to the famous Ferry Building (where very good restaurants are located), you would have phenomenal views of both the GGB, Alcatraz and the city itself along the way.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We had never visited San Francisco, but after ten days of driving up the gorgeous, rugged coast, we had a feeling we did not want to stay in the city, and so booked Cavallo Point instead. We were so happy we did. What a great spot, at the base of the GG Bridge, with a view to SF, and just minutes from all that gorgeous headlands terrain, and the charming towns of Sausalito and Marin.

We stayed in one of the old "barracks" rooms, and it was spacious and comfortable, with two fireplaces, an extra bedroom, and two porches.

The restaurant was so good that we ended up eating there a few nights, even though we hadn't planned to.

Every staff member we encountered was excellent. It's a very well run property.

For someone unfamiliar with SF, like me, I would warn you that being "right on the other side of the bridge" still involves a bit of a hike to get over to the city proper. I assumed it would be a 10-minute-ish drive, but I just didn't have a sense of how vast the area is, and we really had to give ourselves a good 30 minutes to get to the city. One day we took the boat over and really enjoyed the experience.

The only disappointment with the hotel was the spa. I decided not to have any treatments, because the spa common area and the locker rooms seemed so dated, and the treatments themselves seemed overpriced, and I've been burned at hotels trying to be spas before. But... we did love the meditation pool, and used it frequently.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank epilogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

I wanted to thank you for the great review, we are happy as well that you decided to visit San Francisco from this coveted location right on the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge. We are also glad you enjoyed Murray Circle and the Meditation pool.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews