We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful family vacation!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our two young children. We were in a spacious, beautiful contemporary room with the most amazing soaking tub (also ideal for bathing two small children!). Our room was quiet, and the walk to the lobby was easy and the perfect way to get the kids outside. I loved the coffee and pastries every morning as well as the afternoon wine. The FirePit and heated porches made the cool, breezy evenings so lovely, and the presidio yacht club, just a short walk away, was a fun spot for a drink while seal watching. The drive into the city was about ten minutes, and being a native San Franciscan, I can honestly say that I would never stay anywhere else IN the city with young kids. We got all the benefits of the city while having a safe, beautiful, spacious place for us all to enjoy. It was truly a wonderful vacation, and we cannot wait to return. Loved every minute!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Greer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Greer,

I am most appreciative of your kind words. We welcome many families and are very committed to making this a wonderful place for young children as well. I hope you had a chance to visit the Discovery Museum right next door also.

Warm regards,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The overall quality of the hotel is stunning. The spa and gym facility are amazing. Breathtaking views of the San Fransisco Bay area. The staff at this hotel are exeptional. Wonderful trails along the hotel and tremendously easy to go in and out of San Francisco and Sausalito.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elijah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Elijah,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities, the views and received outstanding service. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Stayed here for a Board meeting and the church made a very good meeting room. I had one of the refurbished "barracks" which was a one-bedroom suite that was tastefully decorated and modern amenities including Wifi. Food was good, nothing special, but their bath products were divine!!! Worth taking some home or ordering online. Great place to get away and not far from downtown SF with a view of the Golden Gate bridge.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view take something near the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trini-trekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the quality of our amenities as well as the conference room where you had the Board meeting and the views. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

If you ever wondered what Mark Twain meant when he wrote that "the coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco", then you need to visit here. While temperatures passed 90 degrees in the rest of the Bay Area, this anchor to the Golden Gate bridge barely touched 60 degrees. I was woefully underpacked for our family retreat here and had to seek warmth from a gaudy "I Love SF" sweatshirt that I bought from the gift shop. I understand those sweatshirts are big sellers in the summer.

The hotel is a campus made up of the old military quarters for Fort Baker. It is situated almost directly under the north stanchion of the Golden Gate bridge. Which means that it enjoys the cold breeze that comes around the Marin headlands as well as the fog.

Each of the old dormitory/homes have been subdivided into 4 to six en-suite residences. Some suites feature connected rooms that share a common living room. Each room is large and they have been nicely updated, with modern showers and a desk with electrical plugs and wifi The designers tried to keep as many of the original wooden Victorian details as they could. So, for example, most rooms are at the top of wooden staircases. Tellingly, there is no HVAC, but my room featured the original fireplace, a small pot bellied stove, as well as heating radiators under the windows.

The buildings are laid out around a gigantic U shaped driveway. There is a large lawn---perhaps parade ground---in the middle. The Children's Discovery Museum and the waters of the Bay are at the other end. The view is stunning day or night. Unless there is fog. It's the first time in my life where I was awoken by fog horns.

The reception, meeting rooms, spa, and restaurant are all in different buildings. And there is a mix of street and lot parking as well as a valet service. I had to walk outside a bit, which required the extra clothing. The breakfast was solid, and the other meals highlighted seasonal nouveau California cuisine.

It's a wonderful cool getaway from stifling hot summers.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear James,

So glad you enjoyed the food, the historic room and the charm of this unique place. Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Cavallo Point near San Francisco. Warm and friendly staff - particularly Frederick in the restaurant - and some wonderful views of the bay and Golden Gate Bridge.

You are a little way out of San Francisco, so if you want to visit the City each day you will need to work around the free shuttle times of 9am drop off and 4pm pick up - or organise a taxi / Uber - takes around 30 mins to get into the heart of City, if leaving at peak times.

Sausalito is a very nice and smaller town and easier to get to being only 10 mins away - and there are more frequent free shuttles to this location.

Overall, a very nice hotel and would recommend staying here if you are looking for some "chill out time" from travelling around California; would suggest a City Centre hotel though if you plan to spend most of your time in San Fran itself.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloPointGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We offer indeed complimentary daily transportation to the city, the reason why it can take up to 30 minutes it's not the distance itself but the considerable amount of traffic, which is as a matter of fact one of the reasons why most of our guests choose this location as opposed to the city. Another way to visit the city is to take our frequent complimentary rides to downtown Sausalito and enjoy a wonderful ferry ride to the famous Ferry Building (where very good restaurants are located), you would have phenomenal views of both the GGB, Alcatraz and the city itself along the way.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,550 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
475 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: $612 - $1,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing