We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn Above Tide - A Little Slice Of Paradise!”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We had booked a 5 night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which turned out to be a inspired decision.
The Inn Above Tide is a small, intimate hotel sitting on the waters edge, with stunning views of the San Fransisco skyline across the bay, the infamous Alcatraz and Angel Island.
The friendly, efficient staff were keen to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Ahead of our stay, our daughter had called the hotel from the UK to request champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be in our room when we arrived to celebrate our anniversary. Not only was this a thoughtful surprise, but our daughter wasn't charged for the service! Thank you to the hotel for this lovely gesture, which was very much appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our patio that evening sipping champagne, eating strawberries, watching boats pass by and the ferry coming and going from the ferry landing located right next to the hotel. If you look closely you'll also see the occasional sea lion passing by!
Our room, on the second floor, was one of the smaller rooms available, but it was perfect for us. The bed was very comfortable and its position in the room ensured you could wake up to a view of the bay! The bathroom was very nice, with Bulgari toiletries supplied.
The free buffet breakfasts were very good quality, with a wide range of fresh fruit, pastries, hot quiche slices, fruit juices and coffee. We couldn't wait to get down to breakfast as soon as it opened as it set us up for the day. The hotel also offered a wine and cheese hour each evening, which was a very civilized opportunity to meet up and chat with other guests.
It is expensive to stay here but, as many TripAdvisor reviewers have said, it's well worth it. The value comes from the hotel's unique position (it's certainly the best view we've ever enjoyed), the quality of its services and the extremely helpful, professional staff. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank razzorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2015

I've done a fair amount of travelling. I've never stayed in a hotel like this! I live n Minneapolis and often when I watch TV THETE are a few wild turkeys who watch TV with me.

Well when my wife and I arrived we heard sounds similar to what our turkeys make only they weren't turkeys they were sea lions. In the morning we sat outside on our deck and the acquatic life was amazing. Seals, sea lions, ducks, seagulls, fishermen pulling in their nets and in the distance we could see Alcatrz, SK, Oakland, the bay bridge, only one word describes this B&B, AWESOME,

And then there is the hotel sumptuous evening reception and awesome breakfast - Carmel rolls, fruits, quiche, fruit, cheese. It was all good, but the sea life as better.

Did I mention the Bulgari toiletries. I took a cruise several years ago SilverSeas and they provided Bulgari. I use Bulgari 24 x 7.

I'm speechless. If you come you got to stay at The Inn above Tide.

Room Tip: Get a room with an outside deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

My husband & I recently stayed here for two nights on the back end of a wine country vacation, before flying out of SFO. We decided to stay in Sausalito rather than in noisy San Francisco. The Inn Above Tide was the perfect place for a quiet, relaxing place to stay. Although the rooms are small, the fantastic view of the Bay more than made up for it. The location is only steps away from the ferry & from restaurants & shopping. The Inn serves an excellent continental breakfast. They also have a 2 hour wine & cheese reception every afternoon. You've got to love that!

Room Tip: There are a few larger rooms, but they all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

This hotel is wonderful. I stayed for 6 nights with my boyfriend over New Years. We stayed in two rooms, the Bay View Suite and the Queen Deluxe. The main difference in these two rooms, besides the price, is that the Bay View has a fireplace and is bigger. The Queen Deluxe has a gas fireplace and is a bit smaller. The reason I mention this is to say that we enjoyed the rooms equally, however, next time we would probably choose a room with a gas fireplace, as the real fireplace left a very smoky smell in the room and took some maintenance. Both had amazing views, we wanted for nothing. The staff was amazing. The town is filled with wonderful places to eat, I really don't think you can make a wrong choice where that is concerned. We only went to San Francisco once in 6 days. The hotel and town are so lovely that we felt no reason to venture out. If you are looking for nightlife, this is probably not what you'd enjoy. Our first night there we went out at around 7 and lots of shops and restaurants were closing. We found out that during this time of year, it is typically less busy than summer so the shops close early. We enjoyed eating at Scoma's, Angelino's, Cafe Tutti, Napa Burger, and Venice pizza. Again, can't say enough about this hotel, we will return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms feel like they are floating on the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GA-CALgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We spent our last couple days in California here after nearly two weeks elsewhere. We've been to San Francisco many times so thought it'd be nice to stay on the other side of the bridge this time.

We arrived around dinner time and the valet quickly helped us out with all our bags and packages we had in the car. The lady at the front desk was friendly and got us all set up quickly. It was nice to find out they had a variety of DVDs we could watch in room as well. We were running out of stuff worth streaming and watching a movie sounded like a great way to end a day with.

We booked a Vista Suite and were quickly up in our room. The view really was amazing. The Vista suite is at the corner on the second floor and had a lovely large deck. The deck is probably 20 feet away from the outdoor portion of the Barrel House, so don't expect any real privacy, but it's still a great space to go and enjoy the view. The room had a very large well appointed bathroom and sitting area. The sitting area includes a real wood burning fireplace and well stocked book case above the minibar. Overall though the room just seemed a bit over stated and definitely outdated. The bathroom in particular seemed to come out of the 90s. This is not saying anything was not in great working order and very clean, but just could use a refresh to fit in better with the setting and the date. It also is a big pet peeve of mine to call a room a suite, when it's just one large room.

Breakfast in the morning is well stocked and for our one morning we were around to get it, we enjoyed it in the sitting room on the main floor. Between the breads, eggs and fruit it was a good start to the day. The other great amenity is free bikes to take out with you. It seemed like everyone in Sausalito was biking around, so being able to get them right from the hotel is a big plus.

All the staff members we interacted with were really great. They were friendly and hard working. The valet, who also did double duty as the bellman, was different on every day, but they all showed some real hustle to get things done.

Overall the stay was excellent and the view certainly did not let us down. You also could not beat the location for things in Sausalito. It's even just a short bike ride to the Golden Gate Bridge. However, the slightly out of date rooms and lack of much to do late in Sausalito probably means we won't be back for a while.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
2 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,016 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,563 reviews
4.9 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
2.7 km away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: $344 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing