We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$402
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$367/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cavallo Point(Sausalito)
US$414
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$506/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$345
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$171
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
696
101
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
101
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesequichesan franciscosea lionspastriesvista suitea king deluxe roomwood burning fireplacedrawing roombulgari toiletriesangel islandcorner roombay bridgebreakfast deliveredprivate deckcontinental breakfastour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2015

I've done a fair amount of travelling. I've never stayed in a hotel like this! I live n Minneapolis and often when I watch TV THETE are a few wild turkeys who watch TV with me.

Well when my wife and I arrived we heard sounds similar to what our turkeys make only they weren't turkeys they were sea lions. In the morning we sat outside on our deck and the acquatic life was amazing. Seals, sea lions, ducks, seagulls, fishermen pulling in their nets and in the distance we could see Alcatrz, SK, Oakland, the bay bridge, only one word describes this B&B, AWESOME,

And then there is the hotel sumptuous evening reception and awesome breakfast - Carmel rolls, fruits, quiche, fruit, cheese. It was all good, but the sea life as better.

Did I mention the Bulgari toiletries. I took a cruise several years ago SilverSeas and they provided Bulgari. I use Bulgari 24 x 7.

I'm speechless. If you come you got to stay at The Inn above Tide.

Room Tip: Get a room with an outside deck.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

My husband & I recently stayed here for two nights on the back end of a wine country vacation, before flying out of SFO. We decided to stay in Sausalito rather than in noisy San Francisco. The Inn Above Tide was the perfect place for a quiet, relaxing place to stay. Although the rooms are small, the fantastic view of the Bay more than made up for it. The location is only steps away from the ferry & from restaurants & shopping. The Inn serves an excellent continental breakfast. They also have a 2 hour wine & cheese reception every afternoon. You've got to love that!

Room Tip: There are a few larger rooms, but they all are quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

This hotel is wonderful. I stayed for 6 nights with my boyfriend over New Years. We stayed in two rooms, the Bay View Suite and the Queen Deluxe. The main difference in these two rooms, besides the price, is that the Bay View has a fireplace and is bigger. The Queen Deluxe has a gas fireplace and is a bit smaller. The reason I mention this is to say that we enjoyed the rooms equally, however, next time we would probably choose a room with a gas fireplace, as the real fireplace left a very smoky smell in the room and took some maintenance. Both had amazing views, we wanted for nothing. The staff was amazing. The town is filled with wonderful places to eat, I really don't think you can make a wrong choice where that is concerned. We only went to San Francisco once in 6 days. The hotel and town are so lovely that we felt no reason to venture out. If you are looking for nightlife, this is probably not what you'd enjoy. Our first night there we went out at around 7 and lots of shops and restaurants were closing. We found out that during this time of year, it is typically less busy than summer so the shops close early. We enjoyed eating at Scoma's, Angelino's, Cafe Tutti, Napa Burger, and Venice pizza. Again, can't say enough about this hotel, we will return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms feel like they are floating on the water...
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GA-CALgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We spent our last couple days in California here after nearly two weeks elsewhere. We've been to San Francisco many times so thought it'd be nice to stay on the other side of the bridge this time.

We arrived around dinner time and the valet quickly helped us out with all our bags and packages we had in the car. The lady at the front desk was friendly and got us all set up quickly. It was nice to find out they had a variety of DVDs we could watch in room as well. We were running out of stuff worth streaming and watching a movie sounded like a great way to end a day with.

We booked a Vista Suite and were quickly up in our room. The view really was amazing. The Vista suite is at the corner on the second floor and had a lovely large deck. The deck is probably 20 feet away from the outdoor portion of the Barrel House, so don't expect any real privacy, but it's still a great space to go and enjoy the view. The room had a very large well appointed bathroom and sitting area. The sitting area includes a real wood burning fireplace and well stocked book case above the minibar. Overall though the room just seemed a bit over stated and definitely outdated. The bathroom in particular seemed to come out of the 90s. This is not saying anything was not in great working order and very clean, but just could use a refresh to fit in better with the setting and the date. It also is a big pet peeve of mine to call a room a suite, when it's just one large room.

Breakfast in the morning is well stocked and for our one morning we were around to get it, we enjoyed it in the sitting room on the main floor. Between the breads, eggs and fruit it was a good start to the day. The other great amenity is free bikes to take out with you. It seemed like everyone in Sausalito was biking around, so being able to get them right from the hotel is a big plus.

All the staff members we interacted with were really great. They were friendly and hard working. The valet, who also did double duty as the bellman, was different on every day, but they all showed some real hustle to get things done.

Overall the stay was excellent and the view certainly did not let us down. You also could not beat the location for things in Sausalito. It's even just a short bike ride to the Golden Gate Bridge. However, the slightly out of date rooms and lack of much to do late in Sausalito probably means we won't be back for a while.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to just forget about everything else that just stress you, this visit was only to please my mom and for her to have a great time, well, I can tell you that she was very pleased and happy, from the moment we arrived until we left everything was perfect. For starters they let us check in earlier which it was perfect because then we started our day soon. They treated us very well, and we sure did feel very welcomed. The valet parking person was extremely awesome and helpful, plus he spoke to us in Spanish, but he went beyond when we could not get a sailing tour and he and the Inn made calls for us and yes they were able to book us a private tour, just for our family, now that is what you call going the extra mile. Over all I'm very happy we picked this place, awesome view to the ocean, relaxing balcony and the people who runs this place really make sure you feel like at home. Highly recommended! !!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank MONTYHADES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews