We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting with bay view!”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were greeted by a very friendly bell hop named Brian. He was a delight. A true breath or fresh air. The front desk is located in a tiny area. The staff is friendly enough. We were celebrating my 60th and they delivered a chilled bottle of champagne in ice along with flutes. A very nice touch. They offer turn down service with chocolates. Also a nice touch. It's next to the ferry which surprisingly was not a deterrent or that noisy. I always carry earplugs because I'm a light sleeper. We were on the second floor and go to bed by 10 so I heard some noise but not much. The continental breakfast was nice. Lots to choose from and it's open early which is very nice. Great selection of teas and decent coffee. Overall a very nice place. I was just disappointed in how overcrowded and touristy Sausalito is in August. I had visions of it being a quiet bike riding town. Everywhere we went was jammed packed. If I ever return to the bay area I'll try another time of the year.

Room Tip: choose top floor if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dirickBroomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

There are a few places we have been to that we have sat down and thought, "If I never move from this spot for the rest of my life it wouldn't be a bad thing!" We stayed in room 107, which had a fantastic decked area, inches from the water's edge. The view was breathtaking! San Francisco Bay lay before us in all it's beauty, with plenty to see closer by - the seals, porpoises and canoeists to name but a few. The room was extremely comfortable and Sausalito is a great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the City, with plenty of good restaurants nearby. The ferry terminal was a breath away and it was great to watch the comings and goings during our stay. If there is one Hotel we would choose to stay in again of the many we stayed in on our trip of California, this is the one. Special mention to Spencer, the concierge, who kept his cool in a crisis, but that is another story!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of San Francisco - preferably with a deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We were very excited to stay here and this hotel exceeded our expectations. We were in room 101, a king bed room with fireplace and lovely balcony. We were at first concerned that being close to the ferry terminal wouldn't be private enough, but once we closed our side curtains we really enjoyed watching the ferries come and go. Each night we fell asleep with our wood fireplace burning and the doors to the patio open getting a cool breeze, just magical. Breakfast was above and beyond a classic continental and was delivered to our room for a nominal gratuity of $3. Valet service was impeccable and front desk staff suggested an excellent dinner spot and made our reservation. Combined with the location (central, walkable) and our wonderful day trip to San Francisco via the ferry, this was a memorable and wonderful stay. We look forward to coming back!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KHib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The room was right on the SF Bay. The view took your breath. I woke up all night long taking pictures at different times during the night of the bay/harbor. The staff was way more than expected. Bikes were part of the package and we took them over to Fort Baker for a morning ride. Convenient to the Ferry for a day trip into the city. Just gorgeous!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

A warm welcome when we arrived with help with the bags and car parking, very spacious and comfortable room and an evening complementary wine tasting. Breakfast was good but the room it was served in was a little small. Location is very convenient for the San Francisco ferry, overall a little expensive.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank NorthShieldsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
2 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,025 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
2.7 km away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
4.9 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: $337 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing