We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooray for BBQ!”
Review of Gus's Barbecue

Gus's Barbecue
Reserve with OpenTable
Gus's Barbecue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mission Street
Transit: Gus's is located only a couple of blocks from the South Pasadena gold line station.
Description: Gus's celebrates the culinary traditions of the South, serving up fresh and inventive takes on regional Southern fare and barbeque while bringing the roots of true Southern hospitality to the West Coast.
Reviewed 19 June 2015

My sister lives down the street from Gus's. When I visit from NYC, this is one of our favorite places to go. The food is delicious--you will never look at "salad" the same way again. We always enjoy the brisket and the sausages. Although it is crowded (hey, it's great, right), the staff do a really good job at keep the guests happy. r

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2015

In the last couple years there has been a resurgence of BBQ in Southern California. This place has been here for a long long time and needs a little resurgence. The food is good but not great.. the sauces are over done.. and the meat just so so.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

This is a go to place in South Pasadena. The food is consistently good. The brisket and tri-tip platters are favorites, as is the pulled pork in any format. The fries are especially good with the aoli mayo dip, eh. As a change the sweet potato fries are excellent. The craft beer list changes but there's always been something good, usually an IPA. If you're not sure it's always safe to ask your server for advice, and if you still can't decide, ask for a taste of the stretch choice and you can always fall back on a familiar brew. The craft cocktails are also a good choice.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Living in the Kansas City area, I was very pleasantly surprised by this Bar-B-Q restaurant. I enjoy great Bar-B-Q on a regular basis back home and really wasn't expecting much from this place. Wow, was I wrong! This Bar-B-Q ranks right up there with any of the midwests best! I had the Brisket plate and it was very, very good! They have two sauces on each table to choose from. Choose either Memphis sauce or Kansas City sauce. Both are very good! The sides were all delicious as well, but it didn't stop there! The deserts were awesome as well! I had the Biscuit topped with Black Berries and Ice creme! Service was excellent. The portions were large and pricing was fair! Great dining experience!!

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ge0rgetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

Food and service was great. A visit to Pasadena wouldn't be complete without sampling the food and history of Gus's. Try a side of Tri tip, a local item you can't get everywhere.

Thank jkmno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gus's Barbecue also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Gus's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing