We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Hotel Focus SFO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Focus SFO
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for an early flight. The updated lobby doesn't transfer to the rooms. The first reaction we had when we walked into the room was the overbearing smell of bleach and other chemicals, think nursing home. We tried to lay down and relax but the traffic outside was obnoxiously loud, there was no difference in sound between the window being opened or closed. When we got back from dinner we tried to charge our phones but there was only one outlet on the other side of the room. We tried to watch tv while our phones charged but the stations kept cutting in and out or just freezing. We gave up on everything and just went to bed. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper but at 1am I woke up because of people talking in the hallways and opening and closing doors, needless to say the walls are very thin. We woke up at 3am to catch our flight and I had a couple bits behind my knee, it's possible it didn't happen in the room but I didn't notice when I woke up earlier. I go into the bathroom to get ready and there's a giant spider running around the tub, I don't do spiders so we packed up and got out of the room. I inform the lady at the front desk and she says "yea that happens all the time"...wasn't expecting that. While waiting for my receipt in the lobby another spider ran across the floor. We waited outside until the shuttle got there at 4.

Final thoughts: if you're not comfortable in staying at a motel 6 you won't be comfortable here. There's plenty of other options in the area, we regret having chose this one.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank critt385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelFocusSFO, General Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for your recent review about out the hotel. On behalf of Hotel Focus SFO, we apologized for any inconvenience that you had experienced during your stay. In regards to the chemical, we eco-friendly to sanitized all our guestrooms and we do not use any type of bleach. I'm very sorry to hear that you experienced the smell when you walked in to your room. I would also like to apologize for any noise outside the hallways and door sound.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We value our guest feedback and to make sure things like this will not happen.

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

I arrived late 5/19, they gave me a room on first floor at end of hallway. Didn't think much because I was tired from delayed flight. In the am when I checked out, I walked though rooms that's have numerous mattresses. It was odd to me but I was rushing out to the city. The next day, these red spot began to appear and itches like hell. They're flea bites. I contacted Expedia and the hotel but they told me they didn't have a manager on site to deal with my compliant. Irresponsible ppl and should not be operation business under the knowledge they have issues as such.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelFocusSFO, General Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Ms. Lucy,

On behalf of Hotel Focus please accept my apology for your unpleasant visit to our hotel. I understand the main concern was the flea bites. We take all the comments from our guest very seriously and I assure you, this kind of incident would be resolve also. As well as to coach our team member regarding this kind of matter. We would like to be in touch with you about this concern.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We value our guest feedback and to make sure things like this will not happen.

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We had a good rate (despite the fact that parking is charged an extra 12USD + tax), so it suited us fine, but the place isnot worth what it asks for at full price. The toilet was running in our room and the coffee machine not working. We asked for bith things to be fixed, but nothing happened for 3 days (and no explanatory note or other message was received). It is very noisy, the breakfast room is way too small for all the people. However, the place looks new and recently renovated. It is clean and spacious. Staff is pleasantly multicultural and smiling, even though a bit too quick and impersonal in dealing with you. I would recommend the place for one night before a flight, but suggest avoiding it for longer stays.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Elena C,

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve for future guests. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. At Hotel Focus SFO we strive for the best customer service possible and it seems we fell a bit short during your stay. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Clean room and common area. Comfortable bad. Quiet room, and comfortable bed. A bit lower than 3* hotels, and some touch up or renovation would improve the appearance, but if you are not fussy, you have a decent hotel for a better than average price in San Francisco. I order some food from a restaurant in the area (plenty of choices) at a good price and was very tasty. Breakfast offer by hotel is quite poor and is only carbohydrates.Plenty of parking, but hotel charge $12+tax/day for parking. Anyhow, I consider overall a good choice, I would come again if I'm not on high budget and would recommend to other.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank uhim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear uhim64,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your your stay, our rooms and our newly remodeled common area. Thank you for your comments, we will be sure they are given to the appropriate managers. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The manager George was fantastic: super helpful , kind as well as generous . I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay close to SFO at a great hotel ! Close to the airport this lends to a superb choice of hotel for any business traveler and families alike on vacation.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Laura C,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled you had a fantastic experience at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 km away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#10 of 27 in South San Francisco
597 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#15 of 27 in South San Francisco
578 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 27 in South San Francisco
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#2 of 27 in South San Francisco
2,114 reviews
4.7 km away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Franc...
#161 of 231 in San Francisco
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Focus SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Focus SFO

Address: 111 Mitchell Ave, US 101 / Bayshore Freeway at South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: S$133 - S$259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Focus SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes north of the San Francisco International Airport, Hotel Focus SFO is your newly renovated (March 2017), convenient, tech-savvy, and eco-friendly place to stay. International and domestic travelers to the Bay Area will find the hotel a great resting spot or starting point for your San Francisco Bay area visit. The hotel is located near Bay Area attractions and businesses, activity centers, and transportation. Casual and business travelers will enjoy the free Superfast Wi-Fi, IMediaCast panels for your smart devices, and charging stations in each guest room. Long term parking and free airport shuttle are available to park and fly from SFO. Free Continental breakfast is provided and rooms feature satellite TV with HBO, seating area with work desk in all rooms, satellite TV with HBO, tea and coffee-making facilities and free toiletries. A concierge service is provided to help guests navigate the area. A 24-hour front desk, free coffee in the lobby, coin-operated laundry room, airport departures/arrivals board in the lobby, and vending machines are also available for guest convenience. The Golden Gate Bridge is 30 minutes’ drive away and downtown San Francisco is 11 miles from the property.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Focus SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Francisco Airport (North) Hotel South San Francisco
Motel 6 San Francisco
South San Francisco Motel 6
South San Francisco Motel Six
Motel 6 South San Francisco
Motel Six South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing